Take the pledge to vote

For a better tommorow#AajSawaroApnaKal
  • I agree to receive emails from News18

  • I promise to vote in this year's elections no matter what the odds are.
  • Please check above checkbox.


Thank you for
taking the pledge

Vote responsibly as each vote counts
and makes a diffrence


Issued in public interest by HDFC Life. HDFC Life Insurance Company Limited (Formerly HDFC Standard Life Insurance Company Limited) (“HDFC Life”). CIN: L65110MH2000PLC128245, IRDAI Reg. No. 101 . The name/letters "HDFC" in the name/logo of the company belongs to Housing Development Finance Corporation Limited ("HDFC Limited") and is used by HDFC Life under an agreement entered into with HDFC Limited. ARN EU/04/19/13618
LIVE TV DownloadNews18 App
News18 English
Needmore seats to Win
Needmore seats to Win
3-min read

Varun Grover denies Sexual Harassment Accusations, Neeraj Ghaywan Comes in Support

After Nana Patekar, Gursimran Khamba and Alok Nath, writer-comedian Varun Grover is the latest celebrity to be accused of sexual harassment.


Updated:October 9, 2018, 4:51 PM IST
Varun Grover denies Sexual Harassment Accusations, Neeraj Ghaywan Comes in Support
Varun Grover has written songs for several films, including Sui Dhaaga, Udta Punjab and Masaan. (Image: Instagram/Varun Grover)
Now that the global #MeToo movement has picked up in India, the integrity of several stalwarts is under scanner.
After Nana Patekar, Vikas Bahl and Alok Nath, writer-comedian Varun Grover is the latest celebrity to be accused of sexual harassment.

As per a tweet, a former student of Banaras Hindu University has alleged that Varun, who was a year senior to her at the university, tried to misbehave with her in 2001 on the pretext of working together in a play.

Social media has went into a tizzy ever since screenshots of the girl’s revelation were shared on Twitter.

Varun, however, was quick to dismiss all allegations. “I completely, totally, categorically deny all the allegations being made. The screenshot in question is untrue, misleading, and defamatory to say the least. Issuing a detailed statement soon,” he tweeted soon after the story began doing rounds on the micro-blogging site.

He has now tweeted a detailed explanation saying, "Here's my detailed statement about the completely fabricated, misleading, and defamatory allegations against me. Am absolutely willing to cooperate and clear my name. Let's not allow such agenda-driven tactics to derail this movement please."

Read it here:

Interestingly, the Masaan writer has been vocally condemning perpetrators on social media ever since Tanushree Dutta accused Nana Patekar of sexual misconduct.

Masaan director Neeraj Ghaywan, however, has defended Varun. Retweeting Varun’s clarification, he wrote, “I know Varun for the large part of my life. I can never believe he would do such a thing. Never. Those allegations reek of vindictive behavior and not a shred of truth in them. Absolutely, 100%, in solidarity with his statement below.”

“It's appalling how such slanderous allegations are trying to sabotage the #MeToo movement in India. Varun is someone who is truly putting his weight and career behind for this movement. It is horribly irresponsible of whoever is behind this to malign him. Of course, my response is emotional and it is totally fair to discount it. This is my truth, what I believe in and I wanted to put it out there. You can wait for the truth to come in due course,” he added.

(Get detailed and live results of each and every seat in the Lok Sabha elections and state Assembly elections in Andhra Pradesh, Odisha, Arunachal Pradesh and Sikkim to know which candidate/party is leading or trailing and to know who has won and who has lost and by what margin. Our one-of-its-kind Election Analytics Centre lets you don a psephologist’s hat and turn into an election expert. Know interesting facts and trivia about the elections and see our informative graphics. Elections = News18)
Read full article
Next Story
Next Story

Also Watch


Live TV

Countdown To Elections Results
  • 01 d
  • 12 h
  • 38 m
  • 09 s
To Assembly Elections 2018 Results