Take the pledge to vote

For a better tommorow#AajSawaroApnaKal
  • I agree to receive emails from News18

  • I promise to vote in this year's elections no matter what the odds are.
  • Please check above checkbox.


Thank you for
taking the pledge

Vote responsibly as each vote counts
and makes a diffrence


Issued in public interest by HDFC Life. HDFC Life Insurance Company Limited (Formerly HDFC Standard Life Insurance Company Limited) (“HDFC Life”). CIN: L65110MH2000PLC128245, IRDAI Reg. No. 101 . The name/letters "HDFC" in the name/logo of the company belongs to Housing Development Finance Corporation Limited ("HDFC Limited") and is used by HDFC Life under an agreement entered into with HDFC Limited. ARN EU/04/19/13618
LIVE TV DownloadNews18 App
News18 English
2-min read

10 NPF MLAs Resign from Party, Assembly in Poll-bound Nagaland

Speaker Imtiwapang accepted the resignations and the seats were declared vacant, a note from the Assembly secretariat said on Tuesday.


Updated:February 5, 2018, 2:58 PM IST
10 NPF MLAs Resign from Party, Assembly in Poll-bound Nagaland
File image of Nagaland CM TR Zeliang. (Photo by Caisii Mao via Getty Images)
Kohima: Amid heightened political activity in Nagaland following a call for deferment of the Assembly polls, 10 MLAs of the ruling Naga People's Front(NPF) have resigned from the party and the House, an official note said on Tuesday.

Assembly polls in the restive state are slated for February 27.

The resignations were submitted yesterday(Monday), the day 11 political parties, including the NPF, its ally BJP and the Congress signed a joint declaration not to contest the elections, bowing to the demand of tribal bodies and civil society groups that the protracted Naga political problem be resolved first.

Speaker Imtiwapang accepted the resignations and the seats were declared vacant, a note from the Assembly secretariat said on Tuesday.

The MLAs said they had resigned heeding the "wishes of the Naga people for solution to the Naga political issue before the election".

"We have resigned in view of the resolution passed by the Nagaland Assembly on December 15 last year urging the Government of India to resolve the Naga political issue before the elections, and in support of the people's desire for solution before election," they said.

They said an agreement was also reached between civil societies, apex tribal organisations and political parties in Nagaland yesterday to seek deferment of the elections.

The MLAs who put in their papers are Noke Wangnao, Tokheho Yeptho, Pangnyu Phom, Neikiesalie Nicky Kire, Zhaleo Rio, C M Chang, Deo Nukhu, Pohwang Konyak, Namri Nchang and Neiba Kronu.

With their resignation altogether 13 MLAs - 12 of the NPF and one independent-- have resigned from the Assembly.

Out of the 13 who resigned two have joined the BJP.

Neiba Kronu told PTI that the MLAs have also submitted their resignations to NPF president Shurhozelie Liezietsu.
Asked about their joining another party, he said, "We are for the common call of the Naga people for 'solution before election', and we will decide on the party affiliation only if election is to be held."

The 10 MLAs who resigned have been seen actively participating in the official engagements of the newly formed Nationalist Democratic Peoples Party, which has declared Lok Sabha MP and former chief minister Neiphiu Rio as its chief ministerial candidate.

Earlier in the day, the BJP did a U-turn, backing out of the joint declaration saying it was up to the party's central leadership to take a call on the issue.

The BJP also suspended its state executive council member Kheto Semaparty, who had signed the joint declaration.

The NPF is now left with 35 MLAs in the 60-member Assembly, while the BJP has four. There are seven independent MLAs, while 14 seats are now vacant.
| Edited by: Huma Tabassum
Read full article
Next Story
Next Story

Also Watch


Live TV

Countdown To Elections Results
  • 01 d
  • 12 h
  • 38 m
  • 09 s
To Assembly Elections 2018 Results