LIVE TV DownloadNews18 App
News18 English
1-min read

Allahabad North Election Results 2017 : Harshvardhan Bajpai of BJP Wins

Elections to 403 seats of Uttar Pradesh were held over 7 phases from February 4 to March 8.

Updated:March 11, 2017, 7:02 PM IST

Harshvardhan Bajpai of BJP has won from Allahabad North constituency by 89191 votes.

The main candidates from Allahabad North were Amit (Bahujan Samaj Party ), Harshvardhan Bajpai (BJP). The heavyweight candidate is Anugrah Narain Singh from Congress.

Allahabad North is Brahmin dominated constituency. Congress’s Anurag Narain Singh is against BJP’s Harsh Bajpai, the grandson of Congress stalwart Rajendra Kumar Bajpai. Singh won in 2007 and 2012 on Congress ticket, defeating Bajpai, who then contested from Bahujan Samaj Party .

In the 2012 Assembly elections, the Congress won this constituency by a margin of 16,092 votes. Anugrah Narayan Singh, the winning Congress candidate, got 54,787 votes. The nearest contender was Harshvardhan Bajpai of the Bahujan Samaj Party who got 38,695 votes. The voter turnout was a poor 40.90 %.

The ruling Samajwadi Party (SP) in Uttar Pradesh had in 2012 won 224 of these seats spread across 75 districts. It has tied-up with Congress this time in the contest against BJP and Bahujan Samaj Party.

Elections to 403 seats of Uttar Pradesh were held over 7 phases from February 4 to March 8.

Exit polls had predicted the BJP emerging first in Uttar Pradesh with the Samajwadi Party- Congress alliance emerging second and Mayawati's Bahujan Samaj Party emerging a distant third.

For live Uttar Pradesh assembly election results click here

Read full article
Next Story
Next Story

Also Watch


Live TV

Countdown To Elections Results
  • 01 d
  • 12 h
  • 38 m
  • 09 s
To Assembly Elections 2018 Results