Take the pledge to vote

For a better tommorow#AajSawaroApnaKal
  • I agree to receive emails from News18

  • I promise to vote in this year's elections no matter what the odds are.
  • Please check above checkbox.


Thank you for
taking the pledge

Vote responsibly as each vote counts
and makes a diffrence


Issued in public interest by HDFC Life. HDFC Life Insurance Company Limited (Formerly HDFC Standard Life Insurance Company Limited) (“HDFC Life”). CIN: L65110MH2000PLC128245, IRDAI Reg. No. 101 . The name/letters "HDFC" in the name/logo of the company belongs to Housing Development Finance Corporation Limited ("HDFC Limited") and is used by HDFC Life under an agreement entered into with HDFC Limited. ARN EU/04/19/13618
Associate PartnerAssociate Partner
LIVE TV DownloadNews18 App
News18 English
News18 » Politics
1-min read

Allahabad North Election Results 2017 Live: Harshvardhan Bajpai of BJP Leading

Counting is on for the Allahabad North seat, constituency No. 262 of Uttar Pradesh legislative Assembly.


Updated:March 11, 2017, 1:28 PM IST

Counting is on for the Allahabad North seat, constituency No. 262 of Uttar Pradesh legislative Assembly.

The main candidates from Allahabad north are Amit (BSP), Harshvardhan Bajpai (BJP), Anugrah Narain Singh (Congress), Sharad Khare (RSP), Vindeshwari Prasad (SHS).

Allahabad North is a Brahmin dominated constituency. Congress’s Anurag Narain Singh is against BJP’s Harsh Bajpai, the grandson of Congress stalwart rajendra Kumar Bajpai. Singh won in 2007 and 2012 on Congress ticket, defeating Bajpai, who then contested from BSP.

In the 2012 Assembly elections, the Congress won this constituency by a margin of 16,092 votes. Anugrah Narayan Singh, the winning Congress candidate, got 54,787 votes. The nearest contender was Harshvardhan Bajpayee of the BSP who got 38,695 votes. The voter turnout was a poor 40.90 %.

The ruling Samajwadi Party (SP) in Uttar Pardesh had in 2012 won 224 seats spread across 75 districts. It has tied-up with Congress this time in the contest against BJP and BSP.

Elections to 403 seats of Uttar Pradesh were held over 7 phases from February 4 to March 8.

Exit polls had predicted the BJP emerging first in Uttar Pradesh with the Samajwadi Party- Congress alliance emerging second and Mayawati's Bahujan Samaj Party emerging a distant third.

For live Uttar Pradesh assembly election results click here

Get the best of News18 delivered to your inbox - subscribe to News18 Daybreak. Follow News18.com on Twitter, Instagram, Facebook, Telegram, TikTok and on YouTube, and stay in the know with what's happening in the world around you – in real time.

| Edited by: Ananya Chakraborty
Read full article
Next Story
Next Story

Also Watch


Live TV

Countdown To Elections Results
To Assembly Elections 2018 Results