GET Stock QuotesNews18 APP
News18 English
1-min read

Amarinder Singh is Congress's CM Candidate in Punjab: Rahul Gandhi

Congress Vice President Rahul Gandhi on Friday announced that Captain Amarinder Singh will be the party's chief ministerial candidate in Punjab.


Updated:January 27, 2017, 5:40 PM IST
Amarinder Singh is Congress's CM Candidate in Punjab: Rahul Gandhi
File image of Congress Vice President Rahul Gandhi. (Image: PTI)

Majitha: Ending all speculation of the past few months over who will be the Congress' chief ministerial candidate in the poll-bound Punjab, party Vice President Rahul Gandhi announced on Friday that Captain Amarinder Singh would head the government if the Congress is voted to power.

Addressing his first political rally in the Akali Dal assembly stronghold of Majitha, near Amritsar, Gandhi said only a Punjabi leader could lead the state.

"Your Chief Minister candidate is sitting here (on the dias). Amarinder Singh is our leader who will head the next government," Gandhi announced.

The Congress is heading for a bitter political fight with the ruling Shiromani Akali Dal-Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) alliance and the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) for the 117-seat assembly on February 4.

Gandhi also said if voted to power, the Congress would bring in such a stringent law against the menace of drugs in Punjab that peddlers would shiver even thinking about drugs.

"The Congress will fight drugs and we will win it," he said.

Also Read: Will Rahul Stick to Claim That 70% Youth Addicted to Drugs in Punjab?

(Get detailed and live results of each and every seat of the state Assemblies in Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan, Telangana, Chhattisgarh and Mizoram to know which candidate/party is leading or trailing and to know who has won and who has lost and by what margin. Our one-of-its-kind Election Analytics Centre lets you put on the psephologist's hat. Know interesting facts and trivia about the elections. Elections = News18)
Read full article
Next Story
Next Story

Also Watch


Live TV

Countdown To Elections Results
  • 01 d
  • 12 h
  • 38 m
  • 09 s
To Assembly Elections 2018 Results