LIVE TV DownloadNews18 App
News18 English
1-min read

Amroha Election Results 2017: Mehboob Ali of SP Wins

Counting is on for the Amroha seat, constituency No. 41 of Uttar Pradesh legislative assembly.

Updated:March 11, 2017, 6:20 PM IST

Mehboob Ali of Samajwadi Party has won Amroha seat, constituency No. 41 of Uttar Pradesh legislative assembly on Saturday.

The main candidates from Amroha were Naushad Ali (BSP), Dr. Kunwer Sain Saini (BJP), Saleem Khan (RLD), Mehboob Ali (SP), Khureed Ahmad (Independent).

Amroha is a Muslim dominated constituency. From BJP, Dr. Kunwer Sain Saini is challenging a prominent Muslim face of Samajwadi Party Mahboob Ali, three-time MLA and cabinet minister. Samajwadi party won the seat both in 2012 and 2014.

In the 2012 Assembly elections, the Samajwadi Party won this constituency by a margin of 21,805 votes. Mehboob Ali, the winning Samajwadi Party candidate, got 60,807 votes. The nearest contender was Ram Singh of BJP who got 39,002 votes. The voter turnout was 66.65 %.

The ruling Samajwadi Party (SP) in Uttar Pradesh had in 2012 won 224 seats spread across 75 districts. It has tied-up with Congress this time in the contest against BJP and BSP.

Elections to 403 seats of Uttar Pradesh were held over 7 phases from February 4 to March 8.

Exit polls had predicted the BJP emerging first in Uttar Pradesh with the Samajwadi Party- Congress alliance emerging second and Mayawati's Bahujan Samaj Party emerging a distant third.

For live Uttar Pradesh assembly election results click here

Read full article
Next Story
Next Story

Also Watch


Live TV

Countdown To Elections Results
  • 01 d
  • 12 h
  • 38 m
  • 09 s
To Assembly Elections 2018 Results