Caught exception: "504" Status: Gateway Time-out As BJD Heads Towards a Landslide in Odisha Assembly, Naveen Patnaik All Set to Become CM of Odisha for the Fifth-Term - News18

Take the pledge to vote

For a better tommorow#AajSawaroApnaKal
  • I agree to receive emails from News18

  • I promise to vote in this year's elections no matter what the odds are.
  • Please check above checkbox.


Thank you for
taking the pledge

Vote responsibly as each vote counts
and makes a diffrence


Issued in public interest by HDFC Life. HDFC Life Insurance Company Limited (Formerly HDFC Standard Life Insurance Company Limited) (“HDFC Life”). CIN: L65110MH2000PLC128245, IRDAI Reg. No. 101 . The name/letters "HDFC" in the name/logo of the company belongs to Housing Development Finance Corporation Limited ("HDFC Limited") and is used by HDFC Life under an agreement entered into with HDFC Limited. ARN EU/04/19/13618
LIVE TV DownloadNews18 App
News18 English
News18 » Politics
1-min read

As BJD Heads Towards a Landslide in Odisha Assembly, Naveen Patnaik All Set to Become CM of Odisha for the Fifth-Term

The BJD, which was in a direct battle with a resurgent BJP in Odisha, is leading the Lok Sabha and Assembly elections 2019, under Patnaik's leadership.

Updated:May 23, 2019, 4:18 PM IST
facebookTwitter Pocket whatsapp
As BJD Heads Towards a Landslide in Odisha Assembly, Naveen Patnaik All Set to Become CM of Odisha for the Fifth-Term
Odisha Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik

Odisha Lok Sabha Election Results 2019: As Biju Janata Dal (BJD) continued to lead on over 100 seats in the 147-seat strong legislative Assembly after the conclusion of multiple rounds of counting, Naveen Patnaik is all set to take charge of Odisha as the chief minister for a fifth straight term in office.

He is the seventh longest serving chief minister in the electoral history of the country with over 19 years of chief ministership. With Patnaik certain to become the CM of Odisha for the fifth-term, he’ll become the second longest serving CM in India by the end of his term in 2024, if Pawan Chamling is also able to hold his fort in Sikkim.

The BJD was leading on 108 seats in the Assembly, well ahead of the second placed Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) at 24 seats.

Naveen Patnaik, who is contesting from Bijepur and Hinjli, is leading by more than 24,000 votes in both the seats and is likely to win both when the final results are out. Patnaik's Biju Janata Dal is probably the only party to have improved its performance over the last three state elections. They won 61 seats in 2004, 103 seats in 2009, and 117 seats in 2014.

The state has clearly voted differently for the state elections and the Lok Sabha elections, trends suggest. While the BJD looks on its way to sweep in the Assembly, the BJP, increasing its footprint in the state over the last couple of elections with its vote-share, has made significant gains in Lok Sabha with lead on seven seats. The BJD on the other hand, is leading on the remaining 14 Lok Sabha seat.

The ruling BJD, which has been in power in the state since 2000, had won a thumping majority of 117 seats out of the total 147 in the last state elections in 2014. It had also bagged a massive vote share of 43.35 percent. While Congress and BJP had won 16 and 10 seats, respectively, four seats had gone to ‘Others’.

BJD was the part of BJP-led National Democratic Alliance (NDA) in 2004 and 2000. In Lok Sabha 2014, the BJD had swept the state of Odisha with 20 Lok Sabha seats, where BJP managed to secure one.

The state went to polls in an unprecedented four phases and registered a voter turnout of 73.1 per cent compared with 73.79 per cent in 2014.

Get the best of News18 delivered to your inbox - subscribe to News18 Daybreak. Follow on Twitter, Instagram, Facebook, Telegram, TikTok and on YouTube, and stay in the know with what's happening in the world around you – in real time.

Read full article
Next Story
Next Story

facebookTwitter Pocket whatsapp

Live TV

Countdown To Elections Results
To Assembly Elections 2018 Results
Listen to the latest songs, only on