Assembly elections: Political developments in Haryana as the counting progressed

Assembly elections: Political developments in Haryana as the counting progressed

The state saw a record 76 per cent voting in the Assembly elections held on October 15.

  • IBNLive.com
  • Last Updated: October 19, 2014, 8:00 AM IST
Share this:

New Delhi: 4:30 pm: Final tally stands at: BJP- 47, INLD-19, Congress-15, HJC-2. Shiromani Akali Dal and Bahujan Samaj Party 1 each.

3:30 pm: INLD's Dushyant Chautala loses to BJP's Prem Lata in Uchana Kalan.

2:45 pm: Naina Singh of the Chautala family has been declared winner in the Dabwali constituency where she defeated her Congress rival by over 8,000 votes.

2:30 pm: Haryana Janhhit Congress chief Kuldeep Bishnoi wins the Adampur seat by a margin of over 17,000 votes.

1:45 pm: BJP sweeps Congress stronghold Rohtak. BJP's Manish Kumar Grover defeats Congress MLA Bharat Bhushan Batra.

1:30 pm: Naina Singh of the Chautala family is leading in Dabwali by over 7,000 votes now. She is a debutant and the first woman from the Chautala family to contest elections.

1:25 pm: HLP chief Gopal Kanda has once again taken a lead in Sirsa. He is currently leading by over 700 votes.

1:15 pm: Congress MLA Jai Tirath retains his seat by just three votes, INLD's Inderjeet gave a tough contest to the sitting MLA.

12:40 pm: Conceding defeat, Chief Minister Bhupinder Singh Hooda congratulated the Bharatiya Janata Party for its performance in the elections.

12:26 pm: Independent candidate Rahish Khan has won the Punahana seat by defeating INLD's Mohammed Ilyas.

12:26 pm: Gian Chand Gupta of the BJP registers a thumping victory by defeating INLD's Kulbhushan Goyal by a margin of over 44,000 votes.

12:23 pm: Jaiveer Singh of the Indian National Lok Dal has won the Kharkhauda seat.

12:22 pm: Shiromani Akali Dal candidate Balkaur Singh wins the Kalawali seat.

12:18 pm: Parminder Singh Dhull of INLD has won the Julana seat by defeating Dharmendar Singh Dhull of the Congress.

12 noon: BJP's chief ministerial candidate Captain Abhimanyu is trailing by over 800 seats.

Trends at 12 noon: BJP-50, INLD-20, Congress-11 and HJC-3.

11:50 am: Nayab Singh of BJP wins the Naraigarh seat by defeating Congress's Ram Kishan by over 24,000 votes.

11:39 am:Haryana Chief Minister Bhupinder Singh Hooda retains his constituency Garha Sampla Kiloi.

11:24 am: Congress accepts defeat in state. Speaking to CNN-IBN, party spokesperson Abhishek Manu Singhvi, "We must accept this defeat with humility."

11:13 am: Geeta Bhukkal of the Congress has won the Jhajjar (SC) seat by over 26,000 votes by defeating INLD's Sadhu Ram.

11:10 am: BJP candidate Manish Kr Grover is leading in Congress stronghold Rohtak. Congress leader and sitting MLA Bharat Bhushan is trailing by over 6000 votes.

11:05 am: Uchana Kalan seat currently held by OP Chautala is being closely contested between his grandson Dushyant Chautala and BJP's Prem Lata Singh. The BJP candidate is currently leading in the constituency.

10:55 am: Hisar MLA Savitri Jindal trails by nearly 3000 votes.

10:50 am: HJC chief Kuldeep Bishnoi's wife Renuka Bishnoi is trailing by over 2000 votes in Hansi.

10:37 am: BJP candidate and Ambala sitting MLA Anil Vij retains his seat by defeating Congress's Chaudhary Nirmal Singh by a margin of over 15,000 votes.

Trends at 10:35 am: BJP continues to lead the race in 49 seats. INLD leads in 20, Congress 14 and HJC 3.

10:35 am: Congress leader Randeep Surjewala leads in Kaithal by over 4,000 votes.

10:25 am: Congress leader and Haryana Minister Kiran Chaudhary leads in Tosham with 2000 votes.

10:24 am: OP Chautala's grandson Dushyant Chautala takes lead in Uchana Kalan, BJP's Prem Lata a close second.

b>10:21 am: Congress Bharat Batra Bhushan and BJP's Manish Kumar Grover in close contest in Hooda stronghold Rohtak. Bhushan is the sitting MLA.

10:20 am BJP leader and Union Minister Sushma Swaraj's younger sister Vandana Sharma is trailing in Safidon.

Trends at 10:15 am: BJP leads in 44 seats, INLD in 20, Congress in 15 and HJC in 3 seats.

10:07 am: Chief Minister Bhupinder Singh Hooda is leading in his constituency Garha Simpla Kiloi by over 3500 votes.

9:56 am: Hisar and MP and INLD's chief ministerial candidate Dushyant Chautala is trailing in Uchana Kalan. BJP's Prem Lata is leading, though by a small margin.

9:53 am: Haryana Lokhit Party chief Gopal Kanda is in a close contest with INLD candidate Makhan Lal Singla.

Trends at 9: 50 am: BJP leads in 43 seats, INLD in 28 and Congress in 13 seats.

9:45 am Haryana BJP president Ram Bilas Sharma is leading in Mahendragarh. He had lost the elections last time to sitting MLA Dan Singh Rao.

Trends at 9:35 am: BJP leads in 47 constituencies, INLD-20, Congress-13 and HJC-3.

9:30 am BJP is leading in 49 seats in the 90-member Assembly. Going by the trends, the BJP is likely to form government in the state on its own.

9:15 am: BJP inches closer to halfway mark as it leads in 44 seats. INLD and Congress leading in 21 and 13 seats respectively.

Trends at 9:00 am: BJP leads in 24 seats, Congress, INLD in neck and neck fight as both parties take lead in 12 constituencies each.

9:00 am Shiromani Akali Dal candidate Balkaur Singh is leading in Kalawali seat.

8:53 am: BJP leader Vandana Sharma who is the sister of Union Minister Sushma Swaraj is leading in Safidon.

8:50 am: Hisar MLA Savitri Jindal trails in her constituency.

Trends at 8:45 am: BJP leads in 16 seats, INLD and Congress leads in 7 seats each.

Trends as of 8:36 am: Congress leading in 3 seats, BJP-6, INLD-2 and HJC-1.

8:33 am Haryana Janhit Congress chief Kuldeep Bishnoi is leading in Adampur constituency.

Trends as of 8:30 am: BJP-4, Congress-1 and Haryana Janhit Congress-1.

8:17 am: Early trends give BJP lead over Congress and INLD. BJP leads in three seats while INLD in one constituency.

8:09 am Counting is taking place at 269 places; in Haryana, it is being carried out at 57 places.

8:00 am: Counting of votes begin.

It is the judgement day in Haryana. The state which has been under the Congress rule for a decade is witnessing a close battle between the Congress, Indian National Lok Dal and the BJP this time. Counting of votes to the 90-member Assembly will begin at 8 am.

While the 'scam tainted' Congress is trying hard to retain power, opposition INLD is making sure that it storms its way to Chandigarh after a decade of Hooda rule. The Chautalas are pulling out all their cards to come back to power. The court's orders to send back INLD chief OP Chautala to jail is likely to generate sympathy votes for the party. Amidst these traditional players of Haryana is the Bharatiya Janata Party which is looking to cash in on its Lok Sabha performance riding on Modi's popularity.

The state saw a record 76 per cent voting in the Assembly elections held on October 15.

Share this:
Next Story