Take the pledge to vote

For a better tommorow#AajSawaroApnaKal
  • I agree to receive emails from News18

  • I promise to vote in this year's elections no matter what the odds are.
  • Please check above checkbox.


Thank you for
taking the pledge

Vote responsibly as each vote counts
and makes a diffrence


Issued in public interest by HDFC Life. HDFC Life Insurance Company Limited (Formerly HDFC Standard Life Insurance Company Limited) (“HDFC Life”). CIN: L65110MH2000PLC128245, IRDAI Reg. No. 101 . The name/letters "HDFC" in the name/logo of the company belongs to Housing Development Finance Corporation Limited ("HDFC Limited") and is used by HDFC Life under an agreement entered into with HDFC Limited. ARN EU/04/19/13618
LIVE TV DownloadNews18 App
News18 English
Needmore seats to Win
Needmore seats to Win
2-min read

Atal Bihari Vajpayee's Nephew Finds Place in BJP's Second List for MP Assembly Elections

The list of MLAs who have been denied tickets stands at 38 after the announcement of the second list.

Vivek Trivedi | News18

Updated:November 5, 2018, 3:10 PM IST
Atal Bihari Vajpayee's Nephew Finds Place in BJP's Second List for MP Assembly Elections
Representative Image. (Reuters)
Bhopal: The BJP on Monday announced its second list of 17 candidates for the Madhya Pradesh assembly polls amid unrest among the party cadre over ticket distribution.

The second list of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), among other crucial names, also features former prime minister Atal Bihari Vajpayee’s nephew and Morena MP Anoop Mishra from the Bhitarwar seat.

Mishra, who was sidelined in the party unit for long despite being a prominent Brahmin face in the Gwalior-Chambal region, could help turn the tide for the BJP with a sympathy wave following the demise of his uncle.

The Morena MP had hit the headlines after he criticised his own party in Parliament, saying Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s welfare schemes lacked proper supervision and were not benefitting the targeted group.

A former ministerial colleague of chief minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan, Mishra had stepped down from the cabinet after his kin found mention in a 2010 murder case.

The BJP, yet again, avoided naming a candidate from Govindpura, where veteran Babulal Gaur has been protesting over the possible denial of a ticket. On Monday, Gaur asked the BJP how he could be denied a ticket when Modi had assured him of the contrary.

The list of MLAs who have been denied tickets stands at 38 after the announcement of the second list.

Among those who found place in the list were Nirmala Bhuria, Pellawad MLA and wife of late BJP tribal leader Dilip Singh Bhuria; and minister of state for health Sharad Jain. Former chairman of MP Tourism Development Corporation and Ujjain South MLA Mohan Yadav has also been given a ticket.

The Candidature from Seoni Malwa has been withheld as sitting MLA and former forest minister Sartaj Singh is adamant about a ticket from the seat. The case is similar in Panna.

The BJP had earlier announced a list of 177 candidates. However, it rolled back candidature from Ghatiya and on Monday, its nominee Devisingh Patel from Rajpur died following a cardiac arrest.
(Get detailed and live results of each and every seat in the Lok Sabha elections and state Assembly elections in Andhra Pradesh, Odisha, Arunachal Pradesh and Sikkim to know which candidate/party is leading or trailing and to know who has won and who has lost and by what margin. Our one-of-its-kind Election Analytics Centre lets you don a psephologist’s hat and turn into an election expert. Know interesting facts and trivia about the elections and see our informative graphics. Elections = News18)
Read full article
Next Story
Next Story

Also Watch


Live TV

Countdown To Elections Results
  • 01 d
  • 12 h
  • 38 m
  • 09 s
To Assembly Elections 2018 Results