LIVE TV DownloadNews18 App
News18 English
1-min read

Baghpat Election Results 2017: BJP's Yogesh Dhama of BJP Wins

BJP's candidate Yogesh Dhama has won the Baghpat constituency.

Updated:March 11, 2017, 5:55 PM IST

BJP's candidate Yogesh Dhama has won the Baghpat constituency.

The main candidates from Baghpat were Ahmed Hameed (BSP), Dr.Kuldeep Ujjwal (INC), Yogesh Dhama (BJP) and Kartar Singh Bhadana (RLD)

The Bahujan Samaj Party defeated the RLD by 7,663 votes to win this constituency in the 2012 Assembly elections. Hemlata Chaudhary, the winning Bahujan Samaj Party candidate, got 56,957 votes. The nearest contender was Kawkab Hameed Khan of RLD who got 49,294 votes. The voter turnout was 62.60 %.

The ruling Samajwadi Party (SP) in Uttar Pradesh had in 2012 won 224 seats spread across 75 districts. It has tied-up with Congress this time in the contest against Bharatiya Janata Party and Bahujan Samaj Party.

Elections to 403 seats of Uttar Pradesh were held over 7 phases from February 4 to March 8.

Exit polls had predicted the BJP emerging first in Uttar Pradesh with the Samajwadi Party- Congress alliance emerging second and Mayawati's Bahujan Samaj Party emerging a distant third.

For live Uttar Pradesh assembly election results click here

Read full article
Next Story
Next Story

Also Watch


Live TV

Countdown To Elections Results
  • 01 d
  • 12 h
  • 38 m
  • 09 s
To Assembly Elections 2018 Results