Take the pledge to vote

For a better tommorow#AajSawaroApnaKal
  • I agree to receive emails from News18

  • I promise to vote in this year's elections no matter what the odds are.
  • Please check above checkbox.


Thank you for
taking the pledge

Vote responsibly as each vote counts
and makes a diffrence


Issued in public interest by HDFC Life. HDFC Life Insurance Company Limited (Formerly HDFC Standard Life Insurance Company Limited) (“HDFC Life”). CIN: L65110MH2000PLC128245, IRDAI Reg. No. 101 . The name/letters "HDFC" in the name/logo of the company belongs to Housing Development Finance Corporation Limited ("HDFC Limited") and is used by HDFC Life under an agreement entered into with HDFC Limited. ARN EU/04/19/13618
LIVE TV DownloadNews18 App
News18 English
Needmore seats to Win
Needmore seats to Win
1-min read

Banwarilal Purohit Appointed Tamil Nadu Governor by President Ram Nath Kovind

The 77-year-old Banwarilal Purohit has been a veteran in Maharashtra politics and has been two-time Congress MP and one-time BJP MP from Nagpur.


Updated:September 30, 2017, 12:39 PM IST
New Delhi: President Ramnath Kovind on Saturday appointed the Governors for Arunachal Pradesh, Bihar, Tamil Nadu, Assam and Meghalaya.

The government has also appointed former Naval Chief of Staff Admiral (retd.) DK Joshi as the new Lt. Governor of Andaman and Nicobar Islands.

Satya Pal Malik, former MP from UP’s Aligarh, will now be the Governor of Bihar, a post held by Kovind before he became President. Malik was an MP from 1989 to 1991 and, like Kovind, he was active in UP politics. He was a member of VP Singh’s Janata Dal.

Banwarilal Purohit, who will now take over as Tamil Nadu Governor, has a long political history. The 77-year-old has been a veteran in Maharashtra politics and has been two-time Congress MP and one-time BJP MP from Nagpur. In August 2016, he was appointed as the Governor of Assam.

His appointment as the Tamil Nadu Governor comes at a crucial time when the AIADMK government is facing the possibility of a floor test after TTV Dinakaran-supported MLAs raised the banner of rebellion.

Purohit will be replaced as the Governor of Assam by another veteran BJP leader, Jagdish Mukhi. A seven-time MLA in the Delhi Vidhan Sabha from the Janakpuri constituency, Mukhi has been closely associated with the Sangh Parivar since an early age. He never lost an election from 1980 to 2013, before being defeated by Aam Aadmi Party’s Rajesh Rishi.

Brig. (retd) BD Mishra, an ex-serviceman and war veteran from the 1962, 1965 and 1971 wars, has been appointed the Governor of Arunachal Pradesh, while Bihar BJP leader Ganga Prasad is the new Governor of Meghalaya.

(Get detailed and live results of each and every seat in the Lok Sabha elections and state Assembly elections in Andhra Pradesh, Odisha, Arunachal Pradesh and Sikkim to know which candidate/party is leading or trailing and to know who has won and who has lost and by what margin. Our one-of-its-kind Election Analytics Centre lets you don a psephologist’s hat and turn into an election expert. Know interesting facts and trivia about the elections and see our informative graphics. Elections = News18)
Read full article
Next Story
Next Story

Also Watch


Live TV

Countdown To Elections Results
  • 01 d
  • 12 h
  • 38 m
  • 09 s
To Assembly Elections 2018 Results