LIVE TV DownloadNews18 App
News18 English
1-min read

Bathinda Urban Election Results 2017: Manpreet Singh Badal of INC Wins

INC's candidate Manpreet Singh Badal has won the seat in Bathinda (Urban) by securing 63942 votes.

Updated:March 11, 2017, 2:56 PM IST

INC's candidate Manpreet Singh Badal has won the seat in Bathinda (Urban) by securing 63942 votes.

The main candidates from Bathinda Urban were Suresh Kumar (BSP), Deepak Bansal (AAP), Sarup Chand Singla(SAD) and Manpreet Singh Badal (INC).

Bathinda Urban is constituency No. 92 of Punjab legislative assembly.

It is situated in Bathinda district and comes under Bathinda Lok Sabha constituency. It is an open constituency.

According to data with the Election Commission of India, Bathinda Urban has 1,83,804 registered voters. It has 97,270 male and 86,534 female registered voters.

In the last Punjab assembly elections held in 2012, the Shiromani Akali Dal (SAD) won this constituency by 6,645 votes. Sarup Chand Singla, the winning candidate from Shiromani Akali Dal, got 62,546 votes. The runner-up was Harminder Singh Jassi of Congress who got 55,901 votes. The voter turnout was 74.02 %.

In 2012, the state had voted in favour of the BJP-Akali Dal combine, bringing Parkash Singh Badal back to power.

This time the ruling combine faced off against a resurgent Congress and the debutant Aam Aadmi Party. The state was the first to vote among the five states that went to the polls this time. Elections to the 117-seat Punjab assembly were held on February 4.

Exit polls have predicted a drubbing for the BJP-Akali Dal combine in the state with the Congress and the AAP predicted to be neck-and-neck.

For live Punjab assembly election results click here

Read full article
Next Story
Next Story

Also Watch


Live TV

Countdown To Elections Results
  • 01 d
  • 12 h
  • 38 m
  • 09 s
To Assembly Elections 2018 Results