Take the pledge to vote

For a better tommorow#AajSawaroApnaKal
  • I agree to receive emails from News18

  • I promise to vote in this year's elections no matter what the odds are.
  • Please check above checkbox.


Thank you for
taking the pledge

Vote responsibly as each vote counts
and makes a diffrence


Issued in public interest by HDFC Life. HDFC Life Insurance Company Limited (Formerly HDFC Standard Life Insurance Company Limited) (“HDFC Life”). CIN: L65110MH2000PLC128245, IRDAI Reg. No. 101 . The name/letters "HDFC" in the name/logo of the company belongs to Housing Development Finance Corporation Limited ("HDFC Limited") and is used by HDFC Life under an agreement entered into with HDFC Limited. ARN EU/04/19/13618
LIVE TV DownloadNews18 App
News18 English
News18 » Politics
1-min read

BJP Finalises 10 Candidates For Assam, Himanta Bishwa Sarma Set to Replace RP Sharma in Tezpur

According to sources, the BJP will field women candidature in four seats. The party will declare first set of candidates on March 16.

Tulika Devi | News18

Updated:March 14, 2019, 11:52 PM IST
BJP Finalises 10 Candidates For Assam, Himanta Bishwa Sarma Set to Replace RP Sharma in Tezpur
Himanta Biswa Sarma during a public rally in Nagaon. (File photo: News18)

Guwahati: The BJP has finalised a list of 10 candidates for upcoming Lok Sabha polls. According to the party’s state election committee, the list has a mix of both old and new faces.

According to sources, the party will field women candidature in four seats. Among all the names, Dr. Himanta Biswa Sarma is the most prominent and his candidature from Tezpur is almost final.

Sitting MP RP Sharma has been asked to take a back seat as the party only considered Sharma’s name for the prestigious seat. RP Sharma had earlier expressed his anguish hinting at this decision and he termed it as `great injustice’ by the saffron party.

He also threatened to resign from party if denied a ticket. Like RP Sharma, minister of state Rajen Gohain’s candidature is also uncertain and new face Rupak Sharma may contest from Nagaon.

“It will be really unfortunate if I am denied the ticket, I brought Rupak into politics and it not expected from him. Around 80% of local BJP workers will not cooperate with a new candidate. Besides Hindu Bengali voters are a factor in my seat and if I am not chosen they will not vote for anyone else and BJP will face defeat accordingly,” Gohain told News18.

The party has also shortlisted candidates for eight other constituencies. Sources said four names - sitting MP Bijoya Chakrabarty, Bijuli Kalita, Queen Ojah and Rupam Goswami - are being considered for Guwahati. Chakrabarty wishes to fight with high spirit and is very much confident about her win. “The party will definitely give me ticket and I will again come as victorious,” she said.

In Mangaldoi, Himanta Bishwa Sarma’s close aide Jayanta Malla Baruah has the brightest chance over other two expecting candidates - sitting MP Ramen Deka and Dilip Saikia. It is being speculated that the central leadership might not exclude Ramen Deka as another old party flame RP Sharma is already being denied candidature.

Diphu will be sealed among Haren Singh Bey, Bidya Singh Engleng or Kashe Teronpi. In Silchar, the BJP is considering Rajdeep Roy and Minister Parimal Suklabaidya’s names. Another constituency of Barak Karimganj will be finalized between Kripanath Malla and Amresh Ray. The party will declare first set of candidates on March 16.

Get the best of News18 delivered to your inbox - subscribe to News18 Daybreak. Follow News18.com on Twitter, Instagram, Facebook, Telegram, TikTok and on YouTube, and stay in the know with what's happening in the world around you – in real time.

Read full article
Next Story
Next Story

Also Watch


Live TV

Countdown To Elections Results
To Assembly Elections 2018 Results