Take the pledge to vote

For a better tommorow#AajSawaroApnaKal
  • I agree to receive emails from News18

  • I promise to vote in this year's elections no matter what the odds are.
  • Please check above checkbox.


Thank you for
taking the pledge

Vote responsibly as each vote counts
and makes a diffrence


Issued in public interest by HDFC Life. HDFC Life Insurance Company Limited (Formerly HDFC Standard Life Insurance Company Limited) (“HDFC Life”). CIN: L65110MH2000PLC128245, IRDAI Reg. No. 101 . The name/letters "HDFC" in the name/logo of the company belongs to Housing Development Finance Corporation Limited ("HDFC Limited") and is used by HDFC Life under an agreement entered into with HDFC Limited. ARN EU/04/19/13618
LIVE TV DownloadNews18 App
News18 English
News18 » Politics
3-min read

BJP Living in Fool's Paradise, Would Have Loved To Take on PM Modi From Patna Sahib: Shatrughan Sinha

The actor-politician scoffed at the BJP's claim that the seat has been its stronghold, citing the victories of Congress and RJD nominees in the past from the prestigious constituency.


Updated:April 13, 2019, 7:36 PM IST
BJP Living in Fool's Paradise, Would Have Loved To Take on PM Modi From Patna Sahib: Shatrughan Sinha
File photo of actor-turned-politician Shatrughan Sinha.

Patna: Actor-politician Shatrughan Sinha, who quit the BJP to fight from Patna Sahib on a Congress ticket, on Saturday scoffed at the saffron party's claim that the seat has been its stronghold and said he "would have loved" to fight Prime Minister Narendra Modi from there.

"Let them (BJP) live in fool's paradise ... Voters of Patna Sahib will teach them a lesson," Sinha, popularly known as “Bihari Babu”, said.

He cited the victories of Congress and RJD nominees in the past from the prestigious Bihar seat, from where he is seeking re-election for the third straight time, to deride BJP's claim.

"There was news in some quarters that Modi himself will enter the fray from Patna Sahib on a second seat in addition to Varansi. What happened? I would have loved to take on him on the seat," Sinha, also known as 'Shotgun', said.

Sinha, a Modi baiter, will take on Union Law Minister Ravi Shankar Prasad, a four-term Rajya Sabha member fielded by BJP, in the Patna Sahib seat. This will be the first time that Prasad will be contesting in a Lok Sabha election.

Sinha himself has served two terms in the Rajya Sabha previously and had been a member of the union council of ministers headed by Atal Bihari Vajpayee.

The flamboyant MP brushed off Bihar Deputy Chief Minister Sushil Kumar Modi's recent statement that even American President Donald Trump if he were to contest from Patna Sahib would lose to BJP. "All these are said in frustration to keep Modi and Amit Shah in good humour while hiding the situation prevailing on the ground."

Without naming Sushil Modi, the actor-politician said "instead of fielding a person (Prasad) who cannot even win the municipal corporation election he himself (Sushil Modi) should have crossed swords with me".

The Bollywood actor, who was inspired by Loknayak Jayprakash Narayan to join politics and was introduced to BJP in the mid-1980s by Nanaji Deshmukh, joined Congress last week after a fight with the present leadership of the saffron party over being sidelined since the 2015 Bihar assembly polls.

On his arrival here on Friday on his first tour of his Lok Sabha constituency after joining Congress, Sinha was given a rousing welcome at the state party headquarters at Sadaqat Ashram and he expressed confidence that he will retain the seat for a third time with a record margin.

Fighting on a BJP ticket, he had trounced famous Bhojpuri actor Kunal, who was fielded by Congress from the seat, in 2014. In the 2009 Lok Sabha he had defeated fellow Bollywood colleague and Congress candidate Shekhar Suman.

Elaborating on his contention that non-BJP leaders had won the Patna Sahib seat as well in the past, he mentioned Ramkripal Yadav, a former RJD leader who had defeated the BJP nominee. Yadav is now in BJP and in the fray from neighbouring Pataliputra seat.

He also recounted the win by CP Thakur on a Congress ticket from the seat that comprise the capital city of Patna and stretches to Patna Sahib, the birth place of Guru Nanak.

Even CPI leader Ramavatar Shastri had won from the Patna seat, before its bifurcation into Patna Sahib and Pataliputra in 2009, thrice in the past, Sinha said.Patna Sahib Lok Sabha seat has six assembly constituencies under it out of which five are held by BJP at present and a lone one by RJD.

Sinha trashed allegations that he has been an absentee in the Patna Sahib consituency and never cared for people who had voted for him. "Go and see my record ... I have spent 106% from my MPLAD fund ... Its available on the internet," he said.

Get the best of News18 delivered to your inbox - subscribe to News18 Daybreak. Follow News18.com on Twitter, Instagram, Facebook, Telegram, TikTok and on YouTube, and stay in the know with what's happening in the world around you – in real time.

Read full article
Next Story
Next Story

Also Watch


Live TV

Countdown To Elections Results
To Assembly Elections 2018 Results