Take the pledge to vote

For a better tommorow#AajSawaroApnaKal
  • I agree to receive emails from News18

  • I promise to vote in this year's elections no matter what the odds are.
  • Please check above checkbox.


Thank you for
taking the pledge

Vote responsibly as each vote counts
and makes a diffrence


Issued in public interest by HDFC Life. HDFC Life Insurance Company Limited (Formerly HDFC Standard Life Insurance Company Limited) (“HDFC Life”). CIN: L65110MH2000PLC128245, IRDAI Reg. No. 101 . The name/letters "HDFC" in the name/logo of the company belongs to Housing Development Finance Corporation Limited ("HDFC Limited") and is used by HDFC Life under an agreement entered into with HDFC Limited. ARN EU/04/19/13618
LIVE TV DownloadNews18 App
News18 English
News18 » Politics
2-min read

BJP Sends Veiled Message to Mandi MLA Whose Son Contested on Congress Ticket in Himachal Pradesh

Mandi MLA Anil Sharma found that he had not been designated a seat during an event which saw Chief Minister Jairam Thakur thanking the electorate for supporting the party.

Ramlal Kondal | News18

Updated:June 6, 2019, 10:21 AM IST
facebookTwitter Pocket whatsapp
BJP Sends Veiled Message to Mandi MLA Whose Son Contested on Congress Ticket in Himachal Pradesh
Anil Sharma left the event after he found that he hadn't been designated a seat.

Mandi/Chandigarh: The BJP on Wednesday sent a veiled message to former minister and MLA Anil Sharma by not designating a chair during an event in Himachal Pradesh’s Mandi which saw Chief Minister Jairam Thakur thanking the electorate for supporting the party.

Anil Sharma, whose son Aashray Sharma had unsuccessfully contested on a Congress ticket, had been removed from the cabinet under Jairam right before the elections. Anil had, however, stayed on as a BJP MLA.

His father, former union telecom minister, Sukh Ram, and Aashray Sharma had shifted their allegiances to the Congress in the run-up to the Lok Sabha polls after the BJP denied the latter a ticket from the Mandi constituency. The saffron party had decided to go with its incumbent MP Ram Swaroop Sharma, who won with a margin of over 4 lakh votes.

Thanking the voters of Mandi for ensuring a clean sweep for the BJP in the state, Chief Minister Jairam Thakur on Wednesday held a road show from Sundernagar to Mandi, and addressed a huge “Abhaar rally” at the historic Seri Manch.

Interestingly, Anil Sharma greeted the chief minister at Sundernagar and went along with him till Seri Manch. The Mandi MLA, however, returned disgraced after he was designated a seat.

“Being a local MLA and a member of the BJP, it was my duty to be present and welcome the chief minister. After welcoming him I proceeded to take part in the Abhaar rally. When I went on to the stage, I found that the chairs had name slips of ministers and MLAs. I tried to find a chair with my name slip on it, but it was nowhere to be found. Hence, I thought it apt to leave the place without creating a scene," Anil Sharma narrated the series of events.

An embarrassed Anil Sharma further said, “Since it was a party function and I had to attend until and unless the BJP actually throws me out. Only the honourable chief minister can tell me what my position is in the party or the legislature party”.

“We appreciate that being an MLA he found it appropriate to attend the program. We have no problems whatsoever and he is free to attend our programs. Though technically he a BJP MLA and could have been an intrinsic part of this event today. But everybody has his own considerations” CM Jairam Thakur said, refraining to speak much on the episode.

“We didn’t have any chat. We just greeted each other” the CM added.

On Anil Sharma’s future in the party, Jairam Thakur said the issue will be taken care of in the days to come.

Get the best of News18 delivered to your inbox - subscribe to News18 Daybreak. Follow News18.com on Twitter, Instagram, Facebook, Telegram, TikTok and on YouTube, and stay in the know with what's happening in the world around you – in real time.

Read full article
Next Story
Next Story

facebookTwitter Pocket whatsapp

Live TV

Countdown To Elections Results
To Assembly Elections 2018 Results