Take the pledge to vote

For a better tommorow#AajSawaroApnaKal
  • I agree to receive emails from News18

  • I promise to vote in this year's elections no matter what the odds are.
  • Please check above checkbox.


Thank you for
taking the pledge

Vote responsibly as each vote counts
and makes a diffrence


Issued in public interest by HDFC Life. HDFC Life Insurance Company Limited (Formerly HDFC Standard Life Insurance Company Limited) (“HDFC Life”). CIN: L65110MH2000PLC128245, IRDAI Reg. No. 101 . The name/letters "HDFC" in the name/logo of the company belongs to Housing Development Finance Corporation Limited ("HDFC Limited") and is used by HDFC Life under an agreement entered into with HDFC Limited. ARN EU/04/19/13618
Associate PartnerAssociate Partner
LIVE TV DownloadNews18 App
News18 English
News18 » Politics
1-min read

Can’t Compromise With My Self Respect, Says Giriraj Singh After BJP Changes His Seat in Bihar

The Union Minister, who wished to contest the 2014 elections from Begusarai but was given Nawada, said the issue in the seat change was that he wasn't consulted.


Updated:March 26, 2019, 10:50 AM IST

New Delhi: Union minister Giriraj Singh has expressed discontent with the BJP leadership in Bihar for changing his seat from Nawada to Begusarai in Bihar without consulting him.

The sitting MP from Nawada has hinted that he may not represent Begusarai as the move by the saffron party has hurt his self respect.

“My self-respect is hurt that no other MP’s seat was changed in Bihar. It was decided without talking to me. State BJP leadership should tell me why it was done. I've nothing against Begusarai but I can't compromise with my self-respect,” Singh told news agency ANI.

The BJP leader was replaced with LJP representative Chanda Kumar in Nawada, while being pitted against a CPI's Kanhaiya Kumar in Begusarai.

The union minister told News18 that he has wished to contest elections from Begusarai since 1996.

“I wanted to fight from Begusarai in 2014 but I was handed Nawada. Since 1996 I have been wanting to contest elections from Begusarai. The issue that I have with the distribution is that no other sitting MP had to change their seat,” he said.

On Saturday, the saffron party released its list of 39 of 40 candidates contesting elections in Bihar. The party fielded Giriraj Singh to contest against firebrand student leader and former JNU Student Union president Kanhaiya Kumar in Begusarai.

Get the best of News18 delivered to your inbox - subscribe to News18 Daybreak. Follow News18.com on Twitter, Instagram, Facebook, Telegram, TikTok and on YouTube, and stay in the know with what's happening in the world around you – in real time.

| Edited by: Aditya Sharma
Read full article
Next Story
Next Story

Also Watch


Live TV

Countdown To Elections Results
To Assembly Elections 2018 Results