Take the pledge to vote

For a better tommorow#AajSawaroApnaKal
  • I agree to receive emails from News18

  • I promise to vote in this year's elections no matter what the odds are.
  • Please check above checkbox.


Thank you for
taking the pledge

Vote responsibly as each vote counts
and makes a diffrence


Issued in public interest by HDFC Life. HDFC Life Insurance Company Limited (Formerly HDFC Standard Life Insurance Company Limited) (“HDFC Life”). CIN: L65110MH2000PLC128245, IRDAI Reg. No. 101 . The name/letters "HDFC" in the name/logo of the company belongs to Housing Development Finance Corporation Limited ("HDFC Limited") and is used by HDFC Life under an agreement entered into with HDFC Limited. ARN EU/04/19/13618
LIVE TV DownloadNews18 App
News18 English
News18 » Politics
1-min read

Congress All Set To Wrest Rajasthan and Madhya Pradesh From BJP: Survey

According to the survey, the Congress will make huge gains in both the states while BJP will be a distant second.


Updated:May 24, 2018, 8:34 PM IST
Congress All Set To Wrest Rajasthan and Madhya Pradesh From BJP: Survey
Representative image.

New Delhi: A survey conducted by ABP-CSDS has predicted losses for the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) in Rajasthan and Madhya Pradesh, both of which are scheduled go for assembly elections later this year.

According to the Mood of the Nation survey, the Congress would get 49 percent vote share in Madhya Pradesh if Assembly elections were held in the state today. The BJP would be a distant second in the state with 34 percent vote share.

The survey has also predicted that in case of the snap Lok Sabha polls in the state, the Congress with a 49% vote share would lead with a comfortable margin over the BJP with a 34% vote share.

In Rajasthan, the ABP-CSDS survey predicts that Congress is likely to make huge gains. According to the survey, if the state goes to polls today, the Congress could bag 44 percent votes as against the BJP’s 39 percent.

Earlier this year, the Congress won four out of six assembly by-polls and two parliamentary by-polls in the state. The BJP has been without a state unit here for over a month now after Ashok Parnami, who was held responsible for the bypoll loss, resigned as the state party president on March 16.

For Chief Minister Vasundhara Raje, already battling factionalism within the party and growing resentment among the people, it will be an uphill battle to reverse the tide.

The Congress has, meanwhile, ramped up preparations for the elections in MP, where anti-incumbency factor will play a huge part as Shivraj Singh Chouhan seeks a fourth consecutive term.

It had appointed veteran leader Kamal Nath as the state unit head and gave Jyotiraditya Scindia charge of leading the campaign. Nath on Thursday said that the party will also look at the possibility of forging an anti-BJP front with the Samajwadi Party and Bahujan Samaj Party.

Get the best of News18 delivered to your inbox - subscribe to News18 Daybreak. Follow News18.com on Twitter, Instagram, Facebook, TikTok and on YouTube, and stay in the know with what's happening in the world around you – in real time.

Read full article
Next Story
Next Story

Also Watch


Live TV

Countdown To Elections Results
To Assembly Elections 2018 Results