Take the pledge to vote

For a better tommorow#AajSawaroApnaKal
  • I agree to receive emails from News18

  • I promise to vote in this year's elections no matter what the odds are.
  • Please check above checkbox.


Thank you for
taking the pledge

Vote responsibly as each vote counts
and makes a diffrence


Issued in public interest by HDFC Life. HDFC Life Insurance Company Limited (Formerly HDFC Standard Life Insurance Company Limited) (“HDFC Life”). CIN: L65110MH2000PLC128245, IRDAI Reg. No. 101 . The name/letters "HDFC" in the name/logo of the company belongs to Housing Development Finance Corporation Limited ("HDFC Limited") and is used by HDFC Life under an agreement entered into with HDFC Limited. ARN EU/04/19/13618
LIVE TV DownloadNews18 App
News18 English
News18 » Politics
1-min read

Congress, Gandhi Family Paying for Sins: Jaitley on Sajjan Kumar's Conviction in 1984 Riots Case

'Justice for the victims of 1984 was buried by the Congress. The NDA restored fairness and accountability... The Congress and the Gandhi family legacy will continue to pay for the sins of the 1984 riots,' Jaitley tweeted.


Updated:December 18, 2018, 9:46 AM IST

New Delhi: BJP leader Arun Jaitley Monday welcomed the conviction of Congress leader Sajjan Kumar in a 1984 anti-Sikh riot case and also took a swipe at the opposition party for choosing Kamal Nath as Madhya Pradesh chief minister, claiming that Sikhs consider him "culpable" in the violence against the community.

Kamal Nath, who took oath as chief minister of the central Indian state on Monday, has always denied any role in the riots against Sikhs following the assassination of Indira Gandhi in October 1984.

The Congress has maintained that due process of law is being followed and the issue should not be politicised.

"Justice for the victims of 1984 was buried by the Congress. The NDA restored fairness and accountability... The Congress and the Gandhi family legacy will continue to pay for the sins of the 1984 riots," Jaitley tweeted.

Jaitley dubbed Kumar, who was convicted by the Delhi High Court in a 1984 riots case and sentenced him to imprisonment for life, a "symbol" of the anti-Sikh "genocide" and said the country had never seen murders on a bigger scale than this.

He also alleged that the Congress and its ruling Gandhi family were involved in a "cover-up".

The decision may be delayed but at least the process of justice has started, he said, hoping that there will be more verdicts as many cases are being heard on a day to day basis.

"It is an irony that the verdict has come on a day when a Congress chief minister, who is held culpable by the Sikh community, is taking oath," Jaitley told reporters in an apparent reference to Nath.

A commission appointed by a Congress government gave a clean chit to the then dispensation, and it was the Nanavati commission constituted by the Atal Bihari Vajpayee government of the BJP-led

NDA that collated riot cases police station vise, Jaitley said.

The Narendra Modi government formed the Mathur committee and a SIT was later constituted to reinvestigate many riots cases, the Union Finance minister said.

Convicting Sajjan Kumar in a 1984 anti-Sikh riots case, the Delhi High Court said the riots were a "crime against humanity" perpetrated by those who enjoyed "political patronage".

Congress leaders on Monday said the conviction of Sajjan Kumar by the Delhi High Court in a 1984 anti-Sikh riots case should not be politicised and the law should take its own course.

Get the best of News18 delivered to your inbox - subscribe to News18 Daybreak. Follow News18.com on Twitter, Instagram, Facebook, TikTok and on YouTube, and stay in the know with what's happening in the world around you – in real time.

Subscribe to Moneycontrol Pro and gain access to curated markets data, trading recommendations, equity analysis, investment ideas, insights from market gurus and much more. Get Moneycontrol PRO for 1 year at price of 3 months. Use code FREEDOM.

| Edited by: Ahona Sengupta
Read full article
Next Story
Next Story

Also Watch


Live TV

Countdown To Elections Results
To Assembly Elections 2018 Results