Bihar Assembly Polls: Congress Releases List of Candidates for First Phase of Elections

Image for representation.

Image for representation.

As part of the the Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD)-led Mahagathbandhan, the Congress will contest on 68 of the 243 seats in the Bihar Assembly.

The Congress on Wednesday released the list of its candidates for 21 constituencies in Bihar for the upcoming Assembly elections.

As part of the the Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD)-led Mahagathbandhan, the Congress will contest on 68 of the 243 seats in the Bihar Assembly.

The list was announced after the Congress Central Election Committee headed by party chief Sonia Gandhi cleared their names at a meeting held earlier this week.

Here's a list of Congress candidates and the constituencies they will contest the election from:

1. Shubhanand Mukesh - Kahalgaon

2. Lallan Yadav - Sultanganj

3. Jitendra Singh - Amarpur

4. Dr. Ajay Kumar Singh - Jamalpur

5. Amarish Kumar (Anish) - Lakhisarai

6. Gajanand Shahi - Barbigha

7. Satyendra Bahadur - Barh

8. Siddharth Saurav - Bikram

9. Sanjay Kumar Tiwari - Buxar

10. Vishwanath Ram - Rajpur (SC)

11. Prakash Kumar Singh - Chainpur

12. Murari Prasad Gautam - Chenari (SC)

13. Santosh Kumar Mishra - Kargahar

14. Rajesh Kumar - Kutumba (SC)

15. Anand Shankar Singh - Aurangabad

16. Akhauri Onkar Nath - Gaya Town

17. Sumant Kumar - Tikari

18. Shashi Shekhar Singh - Wazirganj

19. Nitu Kumari - Hisua

20. Satish Kumar "Mantan Singh" - Warsaliganj

21. Sudhir Kumar - Sikandra (SC)

Shubhanand Mukesh, the son of Congress Legislature Party leader in Bihar Sadanand Singh, has been nominated for the Kahalgaon assembly seat.

Akhauri Onkar Nath has been nominated from Gaya Town instead of Mohan Shrivastava, who is facing charges of rape. Sources said Shrivastava's name was earlier cleared, but following objections by some senior leaders, he was dropped and replaced by another candidate.

Tomorrow is the last date for filing of nominations for the first phase of Bihar assembly polls, which will be held on October 28.

The RJD has been wary of giving leverage to its allies after its poor performance in the Lok Sabha elections last year. It fears that the Congress may opt for a post-election alliance with Nitish Kumar in the event that there is a hung Assembly.

The Bihar assembly elections will be held in three phases on October 28, November 3 and November 7. Voting in the first phase will be held on October 28, the second phase will be on November 3 and the third phase will be on November 7. Counting of votes will take place on November 10.

Notably, this will be the first state election to be held in India since the beginning of the novel coronavirus pandemic.

Next Story