Take the pledge to vote

For a better tommorow#AajSawaroApnaKal
  • I agree to receive emails from News18

  • I promise to vote in this year's elections no matter what the odds are.
  • Please check above checkbox.


Thank you for
taking the pledge

Vote responsibly as each vote counts
and makes a diffrence


Issued in public interest by HDFC Life. HDFC Life Insurance Company Limited (Formerly HDFC Standard Life Insurance Company Limited) (“HDFC Life”). CIN: L65110MH2000PLC128245, IRDAI Reg. No. 101 . The name/letters "HDFC" in the name/logo of the company belongs to Housing Development Finance Corporation Limited ("HDFC Limited") and is used by HDFC Life under an agreement entered into with HDFC Limited. ARN EU/04/19/13618
LIVE TV DownloadNews18 App
News18 English
donald trump india visit
donald trump india visit
News18 » Politics
1-min read

Cong Releases 2nd List for Maha Assembly Polls, Ex-CM Prithviraj Chavan Fielded from Karad South East

The Congress had on Sunday released its first list of 51 candidates, fielding former CM Ashok Chavan from the Bhokar constituency and state party chief Balasaheb Thorat, from Sangamner.


Updated:October 1, 2019, 11:36 PM IST
facebookTwitter Pocket whatsapp
Cong Releases 2nd List for Maha Assembly Polls, Ex-CM Prithviraj Chavan Fielded from Karad South East
Representative image.

New Delhi: The Congress released its second list of 52 candidates for the Maharashtra Assembly elections on Tuesday night, fielding former chief minister Prithviraj Chavan from the Karad South constituency.

Chavan's name was missing in the first list as the party wanted him to contest the by-election for Satara Lok Sabha seat, necessitated by the resignation of sitting NCP MP Udayanraje Bhosale who joined the BJP.

But Chavan, a former Union minister, declined, and said his focus was on the Assembly. He will now seek a second term in the Assembly from Karad South.

Another prominent name in the party's second list is Dhiraj Deshmukh, the youngest son of former chief minister late Vilasrao Deshmukh. Dhiraj will make his electoral debut from Latur Rural constituency.

Dhiraj's elder brother, Amit, is seeking a third term from Latur city. If both manage to win, there will be a pair of brothers in the state assembly for the first time.

The list also includes the name of journalist Yuvraj Mohite who will contest from Goregaon in Mumbai.

The Congress, struggling to pose a challenge to the ruling BJP-Shiv Sena amid the exit of some prominent leaders ahead of the polls, released its first list of 51 candidates on Sunday. It featured former chief minister Ashok Chavan and state party chief Vijay alias Balasaheb Thorat.

Elections for the 288-member Maharashtra Assembly will be held on October 21 and results will be out on October 24. The last date for filing the nominations is October 4.

Get the best of News18 delivered to your inbox - subscribe to News18 Daybreak. Follow News18.com on Twitter, Instagram, Facebook, Telegram, TikTok and on YouTube, and stay in the know with what's happening in the world around you – in real time.

Read full article
Next Story
Next Story

facebookTwitter Pocket whatsapp

Live TV

Countdown To Elections Results
To Assembly Elections 2018 Results