Take the pledge to vote

For a better tommorow#AajSawaroApnaKal
  • I agree to receive emails from News18

  • I promise to vote in this year's elections no matter what the odds are.
  • Please check above checkbox.


Thank you for
taking the pledge

Vote responsibly as each vote counts
and makes a diffrence


Issued in public interest by HDFC Life. HDFC Life Insurance Company Limited (Formerly HDFC Standard Life Insurance Company Limited) (“HDFC Life”). CIN: L65110MH2000PLC128245, IRDAI Reg. No. 101 . The name/letters "HDFC" in the name/logo of the company belongs to Housing Development Finance Corporation Limited ("HDFC Limited") and is used by HDFC Life under an agreement entered into with HDFC Limited. ARN EU/04/19/13618
LIVE TV DownloadNews18 App
News18 English
News18 » Politics
1-min read

Congress Returns the Favour, Leaves Seven Seats for SP-BSP-RLD Alliance in Uttar Pradesh

UP Congress chief Raj Babbar said the seven seats included Mainpuri, Kannauj, Firozabad and whichever seats Mayawati and RLD’s Jayant Singh would contest from.


Updated:March 17, 2019, 5:23 PM IST
Congress Returns the Favour, Leaves Seven Seats for SP-BSP-RLD Alliance in Uttar Pradesh
File photo of Samajwadi party chief Akhilesh Yadav and Congress president Rahul Gandhi at an event.

New Delhi: Returning the favour to the SP-BSP-RLD alliance, the Congress has decided not to field candidates on seats from where the regional giants have announced to contest elections.

The decision came months after Samajwadi Party (SP) chief Akhilesh Yadav and Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) supremo Mayawati said in a joint press conference that they won’t field candidates in Rahul Gandhi’s constituency, Amethi, and Sonia Gandhi’s Raebareli seat.

Addressing a press conference on Sunday, UP Congress chief Raj Babbar said, “We are leaving seven seats vacant for the SP, BSP and RLD. These include Mainpuri, Kannauj, Firozabad and whichever seats Mayawatiji and RLD’s Jayant and Ajit Singh would contest from. We will also give two seats to Apna Dal — Gonda & Pilibhit.”

While SP patriarch Mulayam Singh Yadav will contest from Mainpuri, Akhilesh Yadav’s wife Dimple Yadav is likely to be fielded from Kannauj.

The Firozabad parliamentary constituency is represented Mulayam Singh Yadav’s nephew and Ram Gopal Yadav’s son Akshay Yadav.

The Congress is also likely to leave out Azamgarh from where Akhilesh Yadav may contest.

“We had talked to Mahan Dal earlier. The party leadership had said it was fine with whatever seats we have to offer, but wanted to contest the Vidhan Sabha election. For the Lok Sabha election, Mahan Dal leaders have agreed to contest on our symbol. We'll find out a way to work with them,” the state Congress chief added.

Regarding tie-up with another regional ally, the Jan Adhikar Party (JAP), Babbar said, “We have reached an agreement on seven seats with JAP. Of these, JAP will fight from five and we will fight from two.”

Get the best of News18 delivered to your inbox - subscribe to News18 Daybreak. Follow News18.com on Twitter, Instagram, Facebook, Telegram, TikTok and on YouTube, and stay in the know with what's happening in the world around you – in real time.

Read full article
Next Story
Next Story

Also Watch


Live TV

Countdown To Elections Results
To Assembly Elections 2018 Results