Home » News » Politics » Congress set to win in Arunachal Pradesh

Congress set to win in Arunachal Pradesh

Congress set to win in Arunachal Pradesh

Till Thursday afternoon, Congress has won 17 seats.

Itanagar: The ruling Congress continued its triumphant run in Arunachal Pradesh, winning 17 of the 23 seats declared so far, as the Trinamool Congress sprang a surprise by bagging one seat in its electoral debut in the state.

Voting was held for 57 seats with three candidates already declared elected unopposed.

Chief Minister Dorjee Khandu and two more ruling Congress members were declared elected unopposed - sitting MLA Tsewang Dhondup from Tawang and debutant Jambey Tashi from Lumla.

Khandu was elected unopposed from the Mukto constituency in Tawang district, bordering China, in the 1999 and 2004 Assembly elections.

Of the 23 seats declared till Thurday afternoon, the Congress party won 17 seats, while the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), the Nationalist Congress Party (NCP), and the Trinamool Congress won a seat each. Three seats were won by independents and candidates of smaller regional parties.

According to latest trends, the Congress is leading in 12 seats, while the Trinamool Congress is ahead in two seats.

Trinamool Congress candidate Kamthok Lowang won the Khnosa East seat defeating Congress candidate and former minister TL Rajkumar by a just 455 votes, the only surprise result so far in the polls.

According to latest trends and results, Wangi Lowang of the Congress defeated his nearest NCP rival by 2,693 votes in the Namsang constituency, while Tapang Taloh of the Congress party won the Pangin seat by 2,781 votes defeating his NCP rival Kaling Jerang.

Karikho Kri of the ruling Congress has also been declared elected, defeating Trinamool Congress candidate Nakul Chai by 3,845 votes.

Voting for the 60-member assembly elections ended Oct 13 with an estimated 72 percent polling recorded out of a total of 7,50,000 voters.

A total of 154 candidates were in the fray with the ruling Congress party fielding candidates in all the 60 seats.

Apart from the Congress party, the NCP has fielded 36 candidates, the BJP 22, although the surprise element is the Trinamool Congress with 26 candidates in the fray.

Of the 28 candidates fielded by the Trinamool Congress, five are former Congress party ministers and 10 are sitting MLAs from the ruling party who were denied tickets this time.