LIVE TV DownloadNews18 App
News18 English
1-min read

Deoband Election Results 2017: Brijesh of BJP Wins

Brijesh of BJP has emerged winner in Deoband while Majid Ali of BSP has lost.

Updated:March 11, 2017, 6:08 PM IST

Brijesh of BJP has emerged winner in Deoband defeating Majid Ali of BSP.

The main candidates from Deoband were Majid Ali (BSP), Bhupeshwar Tyagi (RLD), Mavia Ali (SP) and Brijesh (BJP).

In the 2012 Assembly elections, the BSP won this constituency by 17,113 votes. Jagpal, the winning candidate, got 80,670 votes. The runner-up was Ch. Abdul Wahid of Congress who got 63,557 votes. The voter turnout was 73.80%.

The ruling Samajwadi Party (SP) in Uttar Pradesh had in 2012 won 224 seats spread across 75 districts. It has tied-up with Congress this time in the contest against Bharatiya Janata Party and Bahujan Samaj Party.

Elections to 403 seats of Uttar Pradesh were held over 7 phases from February 4 to March 8.

Exit polls had predicted the BJP emerging first in Uttar Pradesh with the Samajwadi Party- Congress alliance emerging second and Mayawati's Bahujan Samaj Party emerging a distant third.

For live Uttar Pradesh assembly election results click here

Read full article
Next Story
Next Story

Also Watch


Live TV

Countdown To Elections Results
  • 01 d
  • 12 h
  • 38 m
  • 09 s
To Assembly Elections 2018 Results