Take the pledge to vote

For a better tommorow#AajSawaroApnaKal
  • I agree to receive emails from News18

  • I promise to vote in this year's elections no matter what the odds are.
  • Please check above checkbox.


Thank you for
taking the pledge

Vote responsibly as each vote counts
and makes a diffrence


Issued in public interest by HDFC Life. HDFC Life Insurance Company Limited (Formerly HDFC Standard Life Insurance Company Limited) (“HDFC Life”). CIN: L65110MH2000PLC128245, IRDAI Reg. No. 101 . The name/letters "HDFC" in the name/logo of the company belongs to Housing Development Finance Corporation Limited ("HDFC Limited") and is used by HDFC Life under an agreement entered into with HDFC Limited. ARN EU/04/19/13618
LIVE TV DownloadNews18 App
News18 English
Needmore seats to Win
Needmore seats to Win
2-min read

Dhinakaran Camp is in a 'Confused State of Mind': AIADMK

On Wednesday, Dhinakaran had said in Madurai that the 18 disqualified MLAs will not appeal against the Madras High Court verdict upholding their disqualification, as decided by them originally.


Updated:November 1, 2018, 5:21 PM IST
Dhinakaran Camp is in a 'Confused State of Mind': AIADMK
File photo of TTV Dinakaran.
Chennai: The ruling AIADMK Thursday flayed rebel leader TTV Dhinakaran for saying it would "struggle" to secure deposit in the bypolls to 20 Assembly seats, including those of the 18 disqualified party MLAs, and said those in the rival camp were in a "confused state of mind."

It said Dhinakaran's statement showed how much the family of deposed AIADMK leader VK Sasikala, including Dhinakaran, was "against" former Chief Minister J Jayalalithaa.

On Wednesday, Dhinakaran had said in Madurai that the 18 disqualified MLAs will not appeal against the Madras High Court verdict upholding their disqualification, as decided by them originally, and face the elections, seen as a U-turn by his critics.

AIADMK ridiculed Dhinakaran for his volte-face and said the disqualified MLAs were in a "confused state of mind."

"They have perhaps decided against appealing since it is clear that they might not win the case in the Supreme Court. Two judges (of the Madras High Court) had upheld the disqualification," party spokesperson R M Babu Murugavel, also an advocate, told PTI.

Dhinakaran had exuded confidence that his Amma Makkal Munnetra Kazhagam (AMMK) will trump the AIADMK in the bypolls.

"We are not going for an appeal. We will be facing the polls... AMMK will secure a grand victory in all 20 seats and AIADMK has to struggle to even secure deposit," he had said.

While the 18 segments have fallen vacant following the disqualification process, two other seats- Thiruvarur and Thirupparankundram, are also vacant due to the death of the respective MLAs, then DMK chief M Karunanidhi, and AK Bose of the AIADMK.

Opposition parties, including DMK, have demanded that bypolls should be immediately held for all 20 seats.

Earlier, following the October 25 High Court order upholding their disqualification by Speaker P Dhanapal last year, the MLAs had decided to move the apex court, after holding consultations with Dhinakaran in Madurai.

The Madras High Court had upheld the June 14 order of the then chief justice disqualifying them.

Justice M Sathyanarayanan had heard the pleas of the rival parties after a bench of then Chief Justice Indira Banerjee and Justice M Sundar gave a split verdict on June 14.

On Thursday, Murugavel took exception to Dhinakaran's remarks that AIADMK would 'struggle' to secure deposit in the 20 seats if bypolls were held there.

"When he himself says that AIADMK will lose deposit, it shows how much they (Sasikala's family) were against the party and Amma," he said. Jayalalithaa is addressed as Amma by party supporters.

To a query, he said his party was prepared to face the polls anytime.

This was evident from the fact that it had recently named election in-charge for all 20 seats, including AIADMK coordinator and deputy chief minister O Panneerselvam, for the respective segments.

Murugavel expressed confidence that the ruling party would emerge victorious in all 20 seats, if the elections were to be held "even tomorrow."
(Get detailed and live results of each and every seat in the Lok Sabha elections and state Assembly elections in Andhra Pradesh, Odisha, Arunachal Pradesh and Sikkim to know which candidate/party is leading or trailing and to know who has won and who has lost and by what margin. Our one-of-its-kind Election Analytics Centre lets you don a psephologist’s hat and turn into an election expert. Know interesting facts and trivia about the elections and see our informative graphics. Elections = News18)
| Edited by: Padmaja Venkataraman
Read full article
Next Story
Next Story

Also Watch


Live TV

Countdown To Elections Results
  • 01 d
  • 12 h
  • 38 m
  • 09 s
To Assembly Elections 2018 Results