Take the pledge to vote

For a better tommorow#AajSawaroApnaKal
  • I agree to receive emails from News18

  • I promise to vote in this year's elections no matter what the odds are.
  • Please check above checkbox.


Thank you for
taking the pledge

Vote responsibly as each vote counts
and makes a diffrence


Issued in public interest by HDFC Life. HDFC Life Insurance Company Limited (Formerly HDFC Standard Life Insurance Company Limited) (“HDFC Life”). CIN: L65110MH2000PLC128245, IRDAI Reg. No. 101 . The name/letters "HDFC" in the name/logo of the company belongs to Housing Development Finance Corporation Limited ("HDFC Limited") and is used by HDFC Life under an agreement entered into with HDFC Limited. ARN EU/04/19/13618
LIVE TV DownloadNews18 App
News18 English
Needmore seats to Win
Needmore seats to Win
2-min read

Dinakaran Removes CM Palaniswami from AIADMK District Secretary Post

Tamil Nadu Chief Minister E Palaniswami is also the AIADMK headquarters secretary but there is no mention about it in Dinakaran's release.


Updated:August 27, 2017, 1:11 PM IST
Dinakaran Removes CM Palaniswami from AIADMK District Secretary Post
File photo of E Palaniswami.
Chennai: Upping the ante in his fight against the ruling establishment, sidelined AIADMK deputy general secretary TTV Dinakaran on Monday removed Tamil Nadu Chief Minister E Palaniswami from the post of party's Salem District Secretary.

In a party release here, Dinkaran, fighting to assert his supremacy in the wake of recent merger of two AIADMK factions, announced Palaniswami was relieved from his post of Salem Suburban District Secretary effective on Sunday.

Palaniswami is also the party headquarters secretary but there is no mention about it in Dinakaran's release.

Dinakaran has been sacking several party functionaries, especially district secretaries, a key post in the Dravidian parties' hierarchy, and replacing them with his supporters ever since the merger of AIADMK factions led by Palaniswami and former chief minister O Panneerselvam on August 21.

After the merger, it has been announced that steps would be taken to expel jailed party general secretary and Dinakaran's aunt V K Sasikala from the party.

The ruling establishment leaders have also been maintaining that Dinakaran has no powers to carry out the changes and questioned his re-induction into the party by Sasikala.

With his latest action, Dinakaran seeks to convey that he is determined to take on even the Chief Minister for their opposition to Sasikala.

He said Salem Suburban District Secretary and former MLA S K Selvam will replace Palaniswami as the district secretary.

"Party cadres are asked to extend their cooperation to Selvam, he said.

Dinakaran, sidelined by the Palainiswami camp in April last, added that the announcement was being made with the approval of Sasikala, who is serving her jail term in a Bengaluru prison in a corruption case.

Dhinakaran had on Saturday, relieved Government Chief Whip S Rajendran from the post of Ariyalur District Secretary days after he wrote to Assembly Speaker P Dhanapal seeking action against 19 MLAs loyal to him.

The MLAs had last week met Governor Ch Vidyasagar Rao and expressed their lack of confidence in Palaniswami and sought to replace him, triggering demands by opposition parties, including DMK, for a direction to the Chief Minister to prove his majority in the assembly.

Later, two more AIADMK MLAs have supported the pro-Dinakaran group, boosting its strength to 21 and all of them are now camping in a star hotel in Puducherry.
(Get detailed and live results of each and every seat in the Lok Sabha elections and state Assembly elections in Andhra Pradesh, Odisha, Arunachal Pradesh and Sikkim to know which candidate/party is leading or trailing and to know who has won and who has lost and by what margin. Our one-of-its-kind Election Analytics Centre lets you don a psephologist’s hat and turn into an election expert. Know interesting facts and trivia about the elections and see our informative graphics. Elections = News18)
| Edited by: Sanchari Chatterjee
Read full article
Next Story
Next Story

Also Watch


Live TV

Countdown To Elections Results
  • 01 d
  • 12 h
  • 38 m
  • 09 s
To Assembly Elections 2018 Results