Take the pledge to vote

For a better tommorow#AajSawaroApnaKal
  • I agree to receive emails from News18

  • I promise to vote in this year's elections no matter what the odds are.
  • Please check above checkbox.


Thank you for
taking the pledge

Vote responsibly as each vote counts
and makes a diffrence


Issued in public interest by HDFC Life. HDFC Life Insurance Company Limited (Formerly HDFC Standard Life Insurance Company Limited) (“HDFC Life”). CIN: L65110MH2000PLC128245, IRDAI Reg. No. 101 . The name/letters "HDFC" in the name/logo of the company belongs to Housing Development Finance Corporation Limited ("HDFC Limited") and is used by HDFC Life under an agreement entered into with HDFC Limited. ARN EU/04/19/13618
LIVE TV DownloadNews18 App
News18 English
News18 » Politics
1-min read

Fatorda Election Results 2017: Vijai Sardesai of Goa Forward Party Wins

Vijai Sardesai of Goa Forward Party (GFWP) on Saturday won the Fatorda assembly seats in Goa.


Updated:March 11, 2017, 11:09 PM IST

Vijai Sardesai of Goa Forward Party (GFWP) on Saturday won the Fatorda assembly seats in Goa.

While Sardesai garnered 10,516 votes; BJP candidate Damu G. Naik and Aam Aadmi Party's Ranjit Cotta Carvalho got 9, 182 and 1,479 votes respectively.

The main candidates from Fatorda were Ranjit Cotta Carvalho (AAP), Damu G. Naik (BJP) and Jose D'Silva (Congress).

In 2012, voters in the coastal state had voted the BJP to power with 21 seats, the majority mark in the 40-seat Assembly. The Congress had won nine seats, while Independents had won five. Two seats were won by others.

This time, the Aam Aadmi Party made its electoral debut in the state, but Exit Polls predicted the party will end up with a single tally count. Most predicted the BJP would emerge as the single-largest party. The saffron party, however, had not projected incumbent Laxmikant Parsekar as the chief ministerial face and instead hinted at Defence Minister Manohar Parrikar’s return to state politics.

For Goa election results click here

Get the best of News18 delivered to your inbox - subscribe to News18 Daybreak. Follow News18.com on Twitter, Instagram, Facebook, Telegram, TikTok and on YouTube, and stay in the know with what's happening in the world around you – in real time.

| Edited by: Nitya Thirumalai
Read full article
Next Story
Next Story

Also Watch


Live TV

Countdown To Elections Results
To Assembly Elections 2018 Results