LIVE TV DownloadNews18 App
News18 English
1-min read

From Nellore to New Delhi: Here's a Look at Venkaiah Naidu's Political Journey

Venkaiah Naidu holds the numerical edge over opposition candidate Gopalkrishna Gandhi in vice-presidential elections on Saturday.

Updated:August 5, 2017, 8:04 PM IST
From Nellore to New Delhi: Here's a Look at Venkaiah Naidu's Political Journey
Venkaiah Naidu thanked Prime Minister Narendra Modi and all BJP leaders for their support during the vice-presidential elections.
New Delhi: Former Union minister and NDA nominee M Venkaiah Naidu has been elected as the 15th vice-president of India. He pipped opposition candidate Gopalkrishna Gandhi to the post.

Here all you need to know about Venkaiah Naidu:

Full name: Muppavarapu Venkaiah Naidu
Date of birth: 01/07/1949
Place of birth: Chavatapalem, Nellore district, Andhra Pradesh
Children: One son and one daughter
Educational qualifications: BA, BL (educated at V.R. High School, Nellore; V.R. College, Nellore and Law College, Andhra University, Visakhapatnam)

Political Career
1971: President, Students’ Union, V.R. College, Nellore
1973-74: President, Students Union, Andhra University
1974: Convener, Lok Nayak Jai Prakash Narayan Kshatra Sangharsh Samiti of Andhra Pradesh
1977-80: President, youth wing of Janata Party, Andhra Pradesh
1978-83 & 1983-85: Member, Legislative Assembly, Andhra Pradesh
1980-83: Vice-President, youth wing of BJP
1980-85: Leader, BJP legislature party in Andhra Pradesh
1985-88: General Secretary, Andhra Pradesh state BJP
1988-93: President, Andhra Pradesh state unit of BJP
1993–2000: General Secretary, BJP
1996–2000: Secretary (i) BJP Parliamentary Board, & (ii) BJP Central Election Committee, and (iii) spokesperson, BJP
April 1998: elected to Rajya Sabha from Karnataka (1st term)
September 2000–June 2002: Union Minister of Rural Development
July 2002–October 2004: National President, BJP
January 2004–February 2004: Member, Committee on External Affairs
June 2004: Re-elected to Rajya Sabha from Karnataka for second term
2006 onwards: Member, (i) BJP Parliamentary Board, and (ii) BJP Central Election Committee
June 2010: Re-elected to Rajya Sabha from Karnataka for third term
May 2014: Appointed Union Minister for Urban Development, Housing & Urban Poverty Alleviation and Parliamentary Affairs
June 2016: Re-elected to Rajya Sabha from Rajasthan for fourth term

Catch the biggest newsmakers and the biggest newsbreaks on CNN-News18, the only news destination. Keep watching CNN-News18 at just 50 paise per month. Contact your cable/DTH operator now!

*Rental/capacity fee of Rs. 130/- as charged by cable/DTH operator may apply. **GST extra.
Read full article
Next Story
Next Story

Also Watch


Live TV

Countdown To Elections Results
  • 01 d
  • 12 h
  • 38 m
  • 09 s
To Assembly Elections 2018 Results