Take the pledge to vote

For a better tommorow#AajSawaroApnaKal
  • I agree to receive emails from News18

  • I promise to vote in this year's elections no matter what the odds are.
  • Please check above checkbox.


Thank you for
taking the pledge

Vote responsibly as each vote counts
and makes a diffrence


Issued in public interest by HDFC Life. HDFC Life Insurance Company Limited (Formerly HDFC Standard Life Insurance Company Limited) (“HDFC Life”). CIN: L65110MH2000PLC128245, IRDAI Reg. No. 101 . The name/letters "HDFC" in the name/logo of the company belongs to Housing Development Finance Corporation Limited ("HDFC Limited") and is used by HDFC Life under an agreement entered into with HDFC Limited. ARN EU/04/19/13618
LIVE TV DownloadNews18 App
News18 English
Needmore seats to Win
Needmore seats to Win
1-min read

Valsad Leads, Gujarat Follows: A Look at the State's Bellwether Constituency

Whoever wins Valsad ends up forming the government, be it at the Centre or in the state.

Uday Singh Rana | News18.com@UdaySRana

Updated:December 9, 2017, 7:51 AM IST
Valsad Leads, Gujarat Follows: A Look at the State's Bellwether Constituency
Representative image / Getty Images
As political parties across Gujarat come to grips with the developing dynamics in the state in the wake of the Assembly elections, they can turn to one constituency that has always served as a guide of the emerging trend in the state.

Valsad, just south of Surat on the coast of the Arabian Sea, is kind of a pacesetter for all political parties. Whoever wins the Valsad Lok Sabha seat ends up forming the government at the Centre, such has been the pattern since Independence.

The Valsad Assembly segment, too, has had a similar record.

A look at the list of winners in Valsad since 1975 reveals that this assembly seat is Gujarat’s bellwether seat — where Valsad leads, Gujarat follows.

In 1975, Keshavbhai Ratanji Patel, the National Congress (Organizational) candidate won the election here. That year, the NCO-Jana Sangh coalition unseated the Congress in the state.

In 1980, Dolatrai Desai won the seat and his party, the Congress, returned to power. In 1985, Desai fought as an independent and lost to Congress candidate Barjorji Pardiwala and the Congress won another term in the state.

Desai returned to Valsad in 1990, but this time as a BJP candidate and a BJP-Janata Dal coalition won the state.

Desai won again in 1995 and Keshubhai Patel became the first BJP Chief Minister of Gujarat. Desai won the seat again in 1998, 2002 and 2007 – all elections that the BJP won. In 2012, his seat passed on to BJP leader Bharatbhai Patel and once again, the BJP retained power in the state.

(Get detailed and live results of each and every seat in the Lok Sabha elections and state Assembly elections in Andhra Pradesh, Odisha, Arunachal Pradesh and Sikkim to know which candidate/party is leading or trailing and to know who has won and who has lost and by what margin. Our one-of-its-kind Election Analytics Centre lets you don a psephologist’s hat and turn into an election expert. Know interesting facts and trivia about the elections and see our informative graphics. Elections = News18)
| Edited by: Aakarshuk Sarna
Read full article
Next Story
Next Story

Also Watch


Live TV

Countdown To Elections Results
  • 01 d
  • 12 h
  • 38 m
  • 09 s
To Assembly Elections 2018 Results