LIVE TV DownloadNews18 App
News18 English

Gujarat Rajya Sabha Election Result Live: Congress Leader Ahmed Patel Retains His Seat | August 9, 2017, 1:58 AM IST
facebook Twitter skype whatapps
The Election Commission, after watching video recordings of the voting, has decided to disqualify the two Congress MLAs for having violated poll code in Gujarat Rajya Sabha Election. The Congress protested vociferously seeking cancellation of those votes and a clutch of senior Congress leaders visited the EC office in Delhi. The BJP too had its leaders visiting the EC office contesting Congress' version of the event.

Catch all the live updates here.
Read More
Aug 9, 2017 1:58 am (IST)
Aug 9, 2017 1:57 am (IST)
Aug 9, 2017 1:56 am (IST)
Aug 9, 2017 1:51 am (IST)

Amit Shah, Smriti Irani and Ahmed Patel have won Rajya Sabha elections from Gujarat.

Aug 9, 2017 1:46 am (IST)

Arjun Modhwadia, the Congress leader, is currently addressing the media. He is claiming that Ahmed Patel has won the election, and he "salutes his MLAs who didn't bog down under pressure."

Aug 9, 2017 1:43 am (IST)

Bharat Singh Solanki, the Gujarat MLA, has claimed that Ahmed Patel has received 44 votes and won the Rajya Sabha seat. 

Aug 9, 2017 1:40 am (IST)
Aug 9, 2017 1:38 am (IST)

News agency ANI reports that the counting has started. 

Aug 9, 2017 1:33 am (IST)

Counting of votes for Gujarat RS polls stalled after BJP claims two Congress MLAs violated rules by showing ballots to unauthorised people, PTI reports.

Aug 9, 2017 1:05 am (IST)

Counting of votes in Gujarat Rajya Sabha polls stalled as BJP asks the Election Commission of India (ECI) to address its complaint, sources are telling CNN-News18. 

Aug 9, 2017 12:31 am (IST)

BJP MLA Nalin Kotadiya has admitted to cross-voting for the Congress party.

Aug 9, 2017 12:22 am (IST)
Aug 9, 2017 12:19 am (IST)
Aug 9, 2017 12:14 am (IST)
Aug 9, 2017 12:06 am (IST)
Aug 8, 2017 11:58 pm (IST)
Aug 8, 2017 11:57 pm (IST)

On the other hand, Gujarat Deputy Chief Minister Nitin Patel says the BJP disagrees with the EC's decision. Nitin said that EC's decision was a sad one and the poll panel should release the video for the entire country. And, if the CD is made public, not just us, the nation will say that EC's decision was wrong. 

Aug 8, 2017 11:55 pm (IST)
Aug 8, 2017 11:54 pm (IST)
Aug 8, 2017 11:52 pm (IST)

Gujarat Congress MLA Bharat Solanki said that he and his party were happy with the Election Commission after it conceded to Congress' demand of declaring the rebel MLAs votes as invalid.  

Aug 8, 2017 11:41 pm (IST)

The EC has asked the Returning Officer to start counting the votes after segregating the votes in question. 

Aug 8, 2017 11:36 pm (IST)

The counting of votes could begin any moment after the official declaration. 

Aug 8, 2017 11:32 pm (IST)

The Election commission has disqualified votes of two Congress MLAs who showed their ballots to BJP President Amit Shah.  These two rebel MLAs had voted in favour of BJP. The two rebel MLAs are Bhola Bhai Gohil  and Raghav Bhai Patel. 

Aug 8, 2017 11:00 pm (IST)
Aug 8, 2017 10:47 pm (IST)
Aug 8, 2017 10:44 pm (IST)

Sources told CNN-News18 that BJP President Amit Shah has reached the booth where counting is supposed to take place once the EC declares its decision.  

Aug 8, 2017 10:29 pm (IST)

 There was so much of movement that, according to sources, the EC made it a point that it didn't want to meet any more delegations.

Aug 8, 2017 10:27 pm (IST)
Aug 8, 2017 9:48 pm (IST)
Aug 8, 2017 9:33 pm (IST)

BJP delegation has also reached the Election Commission office for the third time today. 

Load More
Gujarat Rajya Sabha Election Result Live: Congress Leader Ahmed Patel Retains His Seat
Congress candidate Ahmed Patel welcoming EC's decision to disqualify Congress MLAs violation poll code during Gujarat Rajya Sabha elections.

  • 16 Jun, 2019 | ICC World Twenty20 Europe Qualifier
    ITA vs GGY
    19.2 overs
    Italy beat Guernsey by 11 runs
  • 16 Jun, 2019 | ICC World Twenty20 Europe Qualifier
    JER vs NOR
    20.0 overs
    Jersey beat Norway by 80 runs
  • 16 Jun, 2019 | ICC World Twenty20 Europe Qualifier
    GER vs ITA
    20.0 overs
    Italy beat Germany by 5 wickets
  • 16 Jun, 2019 | ICC World Twenty20 Europe Qualifier
    JER vs DEN
    20.0 overs
    Jersey beat Denmark by 18 runs
  • 15 Jun, 2019 | ICC World Twenty20 Europe Qualifier
    GGY vs GER
    19.5 overs
    Germany beat Guernsey by 5 wickets
Countdown To Elections Results
To Assembly Elections 2018 Results