Take the pledge to vote

For a better tommorow#AajSawaroApnaKal
  • I agree to receive emails from News18

  • I promise to vote in this year's elections no matter what the odds are.
  • Please check above checkbox.


Thank you for
taking the pledge

Vote responsibly as each vote counts
and makes a diffrence


Issued in public interest by HDFC Life. HDFC Life Insurance Company Limited (Formerly HDFC Standard Life Insurance Company Limited) (“HDFC Life”). CIN: L65110MH2000PLC128245, IRDAI Reg. No. 101 . The name/letters "HDFC" in the name/logo of the company belongs to Housing Development Finance Corporation Limited ("HDFC Limited") and is used by HDFC Life under an agreement entered into with HDFC Limited. ARN EU/04/19/13618
LIVE TV DownloadNews18 App
News18 English
News18 » Politics
1-min read

Ibobi Singh Resigns as Manipur CM, Paves Way For Formation of New Govt

Congress leader Okram Ibobi Singh on Monday resigned as Manipur Chief Minister, paving the way for formation of a new ministry under the BJP.


Updated:March 13, 2017, 10:08 PM IST
Ibobi Singh
File photo of Ibobi Singh (Courtesy: Getty)

Imphal: Congress leader Okram Ibobi Singh on Monday resigned as Manipur Chief Minister, paving the way for formation of a new ministry under the BJP.

Ibobi Singh, who had refused to quit earlier saying his party had the numbers, later agreed to resign by Tuesday evening.

His decision to resign on Monday night comes as the BJP legislature party elected former editor and minister Nongthombam Biren as leader. Biren is to stake claim to form the next government.

The Congress chief minister, in his attempt to hold on to power, refused to step down when asked by Governor Najma Heptulla, saying the numbers were on his side. However, later in the day, Ibobi Singh announced that he would step down in 24 hours. He resigned on Monday night.

He, however, argued that with the Congress emerging as the single largest party, he should be given the first opportunity to form the government.

In a day of fast-paced developments, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) lost no time to cobble up the numbers required to form government. The BJP, which was at second spot in the state, winning 21 seats to the Congress party's 28, did not waste time in getting four MLAs each of the National People's Party and the Naga People's Front (NPF), which is also one of NDA's alliance partners at the Centre, to its side, plus three other lawmakers. The BJP now has the support of 32 members in the 60-seat assembly.

ALSO READ: Manipur Governor Najma Heptulla Asks CM O Ibobi Singh to Submit Resignation

Get the best of News18 delivered to your inbox - subscribe to News18 Daybreak. Follow News18.com on Twitter, Instagram, Facebook, Telegram, TikTok and on YouTube, and stay in the know with what's happening in the world around you – in real time.

| Edited by: Bijaya Das
Read full article
Next Story
Next Story

Also Watch


Live TV

Countdown To Elections Results
To Assembly Elections 2018 Results