Take the pledge to vote

For a better tommorow#AajSawaroApnaKal
  • I agree to receive emails from News18

  • I promise to vote in this year's elections no matter what the odds are.
  • Please check above checkbox.


Thank you for
taking the pledge

Vote responsibly as each vote counts
and makes a diffrence


Issued in public interest by HDFC Life. HDFC Life Insurance Company Limited (Formerly HDFC Standard Life Insurance Company Limited) (“HDFC Life”). CIN: L65110MH2000PLC128245, IRDAI Reg. No. 101 . The name/letters "HDFC" in the name/logo of the company belongs to Housing Development Finance Corporation Limited ("HDFC Limited") and is used by HDFC Life under an agreement entered into with HDFC Limited. ARN EU/04/19/13618
LIVE TV DownloadNews18 App
News18 English
News18 » Politics
2-min read

'Impressed by Their Work': Weeks Ahead of Assembly Polls, 2 Cong Leaders Decide to Jump Ship, Join AAP

The two Congress leaders — Vinay Mishra and Ram Singh Netaji — joined the Aam Admi Party in the presence of Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal and Deputy Chief Minsiter Manish Sisodia.


Updated:January 13, 2020, 8:38 PM IST
facebookTwitter Pocket whatsapp
'Impressed by Their Work': Weeks Ahead of Assembly Polls, 2 Cong Leaders Decide to Jump Ship, Join AAP
Former MLA Ram Singh Netaji joined the AAP on Monday. (Image : Facebook)

New Delhi: Ahead of the Delhi Assembly elections, Congress leader and former MLA Ram Singh Netaji and three others on Monday joined the AAP in the presence of Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal.

Vinay Kumar Mishra, who is the son of former Congress MP Mahabal Mishra and unsuccessfully contested from the Palam Assembly seat, also joined the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP).

Councillor and social worker Jai Bhagwan Upkarji from Rohini ward of Bawana Assembly and Naveen Dipu Chaudhary, a social activist working in the Gandhinagar area who has been associated with the Congress for a long time, too joined the AAP.

Netaji said he was impressed by the work done by the AAP government and "that is the reason I decided to leave Congress". He won from the Badarpur Assembly constituency twice -- once as a BSP candidate and second time as an Independent after which he joined the Congress. Rajkumari Dhillon, former Congress councillor from Hari Nagar ward, also joined the AAP.

Kejriwal said influenced by the policies of the party and the work of the AAP-led Delhi government, they are "joining our family". "They are warmly welcomed in the AAP," he said.

The joining of prominent leaders comes ahead of polls early next month. Even though Mishra and Netaji both said that they have come to the party with an intention to work, sources said the AAP might field Mishra from Dwarka and Netaji from Badarpur.

"There used to be only two major political parties in Delhi, the BJP and the Congress. People were fed up with the politics of both these parties because they did not deliver on promises made and having no other choice, voted them alternatively.

But then five years ago, the people of Delhi initiated a new phase of self-determination in politics and set an example for the rest of India - when a fledgeling party, comprising common people, offered hope and managed to win 67 out of the 70 seats in the Delhi assembly, almost reducing existing political powers, to a naught, Kejriwal said.

He said leap of faith has turned out to be the best decision that Delhi ever made.

"Whether a supporter of the BJP, the Congress or any other party, AAP has gained a place for itself, in every heart because of its sincerity and intent of being in politics. AAP has managed to touch and transform their lives with the work it has done and this time they will vote for AAP, irrespective of personal party affiliation," he said.

Elections to the 70-member Delhi Assembly will be held on February 8.

Get the best of News18 delivered to your inbox - subscribe to News18 Daybreak. Follow News18.com on Twitter, Instagram, Facebook, Telegram, TikTok and on YouTube, and stay in the know with what's happening in the world around you – in real time.

Read full article
Next Story
Next Story

facebookTwitter Pocket whatsapp

Live TV

Countdown To Elections Results
To Assembly Elections 2018 Results