Take the pledge to vote

For a better tommorow#AajSawaroApnaKal
  • I agree to receive emails from News18

  • I promise to vote in this year's elections no matter what the odds are.
  • Please check above checkbox.


Thank you for
taking the pledge

Vote responsibly as each vote counts
and makes a diffrence


Issued in public interest by HDFC Life. HDFC Life Insurance Company Limited (Formerly HDFC Standard Life Insurance Company Limited) (“HDFC Life”). CIN: L65110MH2000PLC128245, IRDAI Reg. No. 101 . The name/letters "HDFC" in the name/logo of the company belongs to Housing Development Finance Corporation Limited ("HDFC Limited") and is used by HDFC Life under an agreement entered into with HDFC Limited. ARN EU/04/19/13618
LIVE TV DownloadNews18 App
News18 English
News18 » Politics
1-min read

In 54 of 56 Maharashtra Assembly Seats It Won, Shiv Sena was in Direct Contest with Congress-NCP

The Shiv Sena, which had contested the state assembly elections in an alliance with the BJP against the Congress-NCP combine, had severed its ties with BJP after results due to differences over power-sharing.


Updated:November 27, 2019, 5:10 PM IST
facebookTwitter Pocket whatsapp
In 54 of 56 Maharashtra Assembly Seats It Won, Shiv Sena was in Direct Contest with Congress-NCP
Senior Congress leader Mallikarjun Kharge, NCP chief Sharad Pawar and Shiv Sena President Uddhav Thackeray along with NCP, Congress and Shiv Sena MLAs take a pledge during a gathering to display their strength, at Grand Hyatt Hotel in Mumbai. (Image: PTI)

New Delhi: After month-long negotiations and the political manoeuvering that unfolded over the past few days, Shiv Sena president Uddhav Thackeray is set to become the chief minister of Maharashtra in a government led by his party in alliance with the Congress and the Nationalist Congress Party (NCP).

The Sena, which contested the state Assembly elections in alliance with the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) against the Congress-NCP combine, had severed its ties with the BJP after results due to differences over power-sharing between them.

Following this, in an interesting turn of events, Thackeray chalked out an understanding with NCP supremo Sharad Pawar and Congress president Sonia Gandhi — against whom Sena had contested the polls — to outsmart the BJP in a dramatic battle for power in the country's richest state.

Interestingly, a look at the Maharashtra election results show that the Sena, which emerged as the second largest party with 56 assembly seats, was in a direct contest with the Congress and the NCP in at least 54 constituencies. Among these, while the Sena was up against the Congress in 25 constituencies, it beat the NCP in 29 seats. Although the Congress-NCP alliance did not necessarily end up in second spot where the Sena won.

On the other hand, of the total 44 seats it secured, the Congress won 24 seats against the Sena. Similarly, 28 of the 54 assembly seats won by the NCP were those where it contested against the Sena.

Overall, of the total 126 seats the Sena contested on with its ally, the party was in direct contest with the Congress or the NCP in as many as 113 seats.

During the state elections held in October, the ruling BJP had emerged as the single-largest party with 105 assembly seats in a 288-seat strong house whereas its pre-poll alliance partner Shiv Sena stood second with 56 seats. NCP and the Congress, on the other hand, secured 56 and 44 seats, respectively.

Get the best of News18 delivered to your inbox - subscribe to News18 Daybreak. Follow News18.com on Twitter, Instagram, Facebook, Telegram, TikTok and on YouTube, and stay in the know with what's happening in the world around you – in real time.

Read full article
Next Story
Next Story

facebookTwitter Pocket whatsapp

Live TV

Countdown To Elections Results
To Assembly Elections 2018 Results