Take the pledge to vote

For a better tommorow#AajSawaroApnaKal
  • I agree to receive emails from News18

  • I promise to vote in this year's elections no matter what the odds are.
  • Please check above checkbox.


Thank you for
taking the pledge

Vote responsibly as each vote counts
and makes a diffrence


Issued in public interest by HDFC Life. HDFC Life Insurance Company Limited (Formerly HDFC Standard Life Insurance Company Limited) (“HDFC Life”). CIN: L65110MH2000PLC128245, IRDAI Reg. No. 101 . The name/letters "HDFC" in the name/logo of the company belongs to Housing Development Finance Corporation Limited ("HDFC Limited") and is used by HDFC Life under an agreement entered into with HDFC Limited. ARN EU/04/19/13618
LIVE TV DownloadNews18 App
News18 English
News18 » Politics
2-min read

Jayalalithaa Reign Continues in Tamil Nadu, AIADMK Trounces DMK-Congress Alliance


Updated:May 19, 2016, 2:34 PM IST
facebookTwitter Pocket whatsapp
Jayalalithaa Reign Continues in Tamil Nadu, AIADMK Trounces DMK-Congress Alliance
AIADMK supporters celebrate party's win in Tamil Nadu Assembly elections.

Incumbent Tamil Nadu Chief Minister and AIADMK chief J Jayalalithaa created history by returning to power for the second consecutive term. It is for the first time in 32 years that a party will have two consecutive terms in the state. Late MG Ramachandran was elected consecutively in 1984.

Celebrations erupted outside Jayalalithaa's residence as soon as the party starting gaining leads and was at a comfortable position. AIADMK supporters were seen dancing, distributing sweets and shouting slogans in Amma's favour.

"I am with the people and the people of Tamil Nadu are with me," Jayalalithaa said while addressing a large group of ecstatic AIADMK workers after her party’s superlative results.

Jayalalithaa single-handedly led the party and was seen campaigning in the state for the last two months. Questions were also raised on her ill-health with opposition parties not missing a chance to hit out at her for travelling in helicopter for the campaign.

It is also believed that the welfare schemes -- Amma canteen, Amma Arogya Scheme, Amma Pregnancy Sanjeevi, many more -- worked in her favour even though she was criticised for her failure to respond to Chennai floods in 2015.

There was a silence at AIADMK camp after the exit polls predicted a win for DMK-Congress alliance. A win for DMK would have help the battered Congress to remain relevant in state politics. The 92-year-old five-time chief minister and DMK supremo M Karunanidhi had called the 2016 polls his last one.

Karunanidhi even tried to stir an emotional chord with the voters but failed to transform it into votes. There was an infighting within the DMK between MK Alagiri and MK Stalin after the latter was elevated and is all set to take on party reins after Karunanidhi.

The Congress which is losing one state after another going with the alliance was the only option left. Moreover, the party has no face in the southern state and reached out to its former ally.

Powered by the exit polls of winning the polls, senior DMK leaders and supporters were seen at Gopalapuram but a different story unfolded as results started trickling in.

Smaller players like MDMK's Vaiko, DMDK's Vijayakanth and PMK's Anbumani Ramdoss failed to garner votes in the highly polarised and complex state politics. The Third Front managed to lead in just 2 seats

The fate of over 3,700 candidates, including Jayalalithaa and DMK chief M Karunanidhi, was decided in the elections. Counting took place in 68 centres across the state involving around 13,000 personnel.

In 2011, the AIADMK had been voted in with 203 seats.

Election to the Aravakurichi and Thanjavur seats have been postponed to May 23 following complaints of voters being bribed.

Get the best of News18 delivered to your inbox - subscribe to News18 Daybreak. Follow News18.com on Twitter, Instagram, Facebook, Telegram, TikTok and on YouTube, and stay in the know with what's happening in the world around you – in real time.

Read full article
Next Story
Next Story

facebookTwitter Pocket whatsapp

Live TV

Countdown To Elections Results
To Assembly Elections 2018 Results