Take the pledge to vote

For a better tommorow#AajSawaroApnaKal
  • I agree to receive emails from News18

  • I promise to vote in this year's elections no matter what the odds are.
  • Please check above checkbox.


Thank you for
taking the pledge

Vote responsibly as each vote counts
and makes a diffrence


Issued in public interest by HDFC Life. HDFC Life Insurance Company Limited (Formerly HDFC Standard Life Insurance Company Limited) (“HDFC Life”). CIN: L65110MH2000PLC128245, IRDAI Reg. No. 101 . The name/letters "HDFC" in the name/logo of the company belongs to Housing Development Finance Corporation Limited ("HDFC Limited") and is used by HDFC Life under an agreement entered into with HDFC Limited. ARN EU/04/19/13618
LIVE TV DownloadNews18 App
News18 English
Powered by cricketnext logo
News18 » Politics
1-min read

Karnataka: Around 20 pc voting in first four hrs

EC has made elaborate arrangements to ensure smooth voting in the state.

News18test sharma |

Updated:April 30, 2009, 2:34 PM IST
facebookTwitter Pocket whatsapp
Karnataka: Around 20 pc voting in first four hrs
EC has made elaborate arrangements to ensure smooth voting in the state.

Bangalore: Around 20 per cent of estimated 15.5 million eligible voters had cast their ballots in the first four hours of polling in 11 Lok Sabha constituencies in Karnataka, officials said on Thursday.

Polling has been brisk in the constituencies of Dharwad, Haveri, Bagalkot, Dakshina Kannada, Udupi-Chikmagalur, Shimoga and Davangere with 20 to 25 per cent voter turnout.

"It has been dull so far in southern constituencies of Hassan, Mysore, Mandya and Chamarajnagar," state election authorities said.

Balloting began at 07:00 hrs IST in 18,452 booths in the second and final phase of Lok Sabha polls in the state.

Among the early voters were Janata Dal (Secular) President and former prime minister H D Deve Gowda in Hassan, Kannada film star M H Ambareesh of Congress in Mandya, former central minister B Janardhana Poojary of Congress in Dakshina Kannada, Chief Minister B S Yeddyurappa and his son and Bharatiya Janata Party nominee B Y Raghavendra in Shimoga.

The first phase of polling took place in 17 constituencies April 23.

The poll panel has made elaborate arrangements to ensure smooth voting through 21,610 electronic voting machines (EVMs). More than 2,700 video recorders and digital cameras will record the voting process, added the official.

Around 55,000 security personnel have been deployed to maintain law and order.

More than 50,000 poll officials are on duty with over 5,600 micro-observers to ensure fair election.

In three constituencies, Shimoga, Dakshina Kannada and Udupi-Chikmagalur, women voters outnumber men.

The number of women voters in Shimoga is 701,605 and there are 696,774 male voters; in Udupi-Chikmagalur there are 618,990 women and 584,860 men registered, while in Dakshina Kannada, there are 675,002 women and 658,174 men voters.

Get the best of News18 delivered to your inbox - subscribe to News18 Daybreak. Follow News18.com on Twitter, Instagram, Facebook, Telegram, TikTok and on YouTube, and stay in the know with what's happening in the world around you – in real time.

Read full article
Next Story
Next Story

facebookTwitter Pocket whatsapp

Live TV

Countdown To Elections Results
To Assembly Elections 2018 Results