Take the pledge to vote

For a better tommorow#AajSawaroApnaKal
  • I agree to receive emails from News18

  • I promise to vote in this year's elections no matter what the odds are.
  • Please check above checkbox.


Thank you for
taking the pledge

Vote responsibly as each vote counts
and makes a diffrence


Issued in public interest by HDFC Life. HDFC Life Insurance Company Limited (Formerly HDFC Standard Life Insurance Company Limited) (“HDFC Life”). CIN: L65110MH2000PLC128245, IRDAI Reg. No. 101 . The name/letters "HDFC" in the name/logo of the company belongs to Housing Development Finance Corporation Limited ("HDFC Limited") and is used by HDFC Life under an agreement entered into with HDFC Limited. ARN EU/04/19/13618
LIVE TV DownloadNews18 App
News18 English
Powered by cricketnext logo
News18 » Politics
1-min read

Karnataka BJP Welcomes SC Verdict Allowing Disqualified MLAs to Contest Bypolls, to Decide on Giving Tickets

BJP President Nalin Kumar Kateel said that a discussion will be held with CM Yediyurappa and a core committee will decide on whether tickets will be given.


Updated:November 13, 2019, 1:54 PM IST
facebookTwitter Pocket whatsapp
Karnataka BJP Welcomes SC Verdict Allowing Disqualified MLAs to Contest Bypolls, to Decide on Giving Tickets
A file photo of BJP leader BS Yeddyurappa. (AP Photo)

Bengaluru: The BJP in Karnataka on Wednesday welcomed the Supreme Court verdict in the disqualified MLAs case, and said its leadership would take a call on the issue of giving them tickets to contest next month's bypolls.

"The court has upheld the Speaker's decision on disqualification of 17 MLAs, along with that Court has given the opportunity for them to contest the upcoming polls, we welcome the court judgement," state BJP President Nalin Kumar Kateel said.

Asked if the disqualified MLAs will be given BJP ticket to contest the bypolls, Kateel said, "We will discuss with Chief Minister (B S Yediyurappa) and in core committee and decide". BJP state core committee is scheduled to meet this afternoon.

Bypolls to 15 of 17 seats represented by disqualified MLAs, whose resignation and absence from the trust vote led to the fall of the Congress-JD(S) coalition government, and made way for the BJP to come to power, will be held on December five.

BJP will need to win at least six out of those 15 seats to remain in power. The Supreme Court on Wednesday upheld the disqualification of the MLAs -- 14 of the Congress and three belonging to the JDS -- by the then Speaker K R Ramesh Kumar but allowed them to contest the December bypolls.

The court struck down the portion of the order of then-Speaker by which the legislators were disqualified till the end of the 15th Karnataka Assembly in 2023.

Get the best of News18 delivered to your inbox - subscribe to News18 Daybreak. Follow News18.com on Twitter, Instagram, Facebook, Telegram, TikTok and on YouTube, and stay in the know with what's happening in the world around you – in real time.

Read full article
Next Story
Next Story

facebookTwitter Pocket whatsapp

Live TV

Countdown To Elections Results
To Assembly Elections 2018 Results