GET Stock QuotesNews18 APP
News18 English
Powered by cricketnext logo
1-min read

Karnataka Congress MLA Siddu B Nyamagouda Dies in Road Accident

Nyamagouda had won the recently held Assembly elections with 49,245 votes, defeating BJP rival Kulkarni Shrikant Subrao in Jamkhandi.

Updated:May 28, 2018, 9:50 AM IST
Karnataka Congress MLA Siddu B Nyamagouda Dies in Road Accident
Nyamagouda was reportedly travelling from Goa to Bagalkot when his vehicle met with an accident. (News18)
Bengaluru: Former union minister and newly-elected Congress MLA Siddu B Nyamagouda died in a road accident in Bagalkote district early on Monday, a senior police
official said.

Nyamagouda was on the way to his constituency Jamkhandi from Goa when the car he was travelling in tried to avoid a lorry and hit a road side parapet wall, District Superintendent of PoliceVamshikumar told PTI.

The 70-year-old lawmaker was in New Delhi and had returned to Goa by flight before he proceeded to his constituency by car, he said. Nyamagouda had suffered severe injuries and died instantly, he said.

He is survived by wife, two sons and three daughters.

Nyamagouda was the union minister in the PV Narasimha Rao ministry in 1990-91.

Condoling the MLA’s death on Twitter, the party said, “Deepest condolences on the passing away of our senior leader and Jamkhandi MLA, Shri Siddu B Nyamagouda. The Congress party stands by his family in this hour of grief.”

Former chief minister Siddaramaiah also expressed condolence on Twitter:

Also Watch

Read full article