Take the pledge to vote

For a better tommorow#AajSawaroApnaKal
  • I agree to receive emails from News18

  • I promise to vote in this year's elections no matter what the odds are.
  • Please check above checkbox.


Thank you for
taking the pledge

Vote responsibly as each vote counts
and makes a diffrence


Issued in public interest by HDFC Life. HDFC Life Insurance Company Limited (Formerly HDFC Standard Life Insurance Company Limited) (“HDFC Life”). CIN: L65110MH2000PLC128245, IRDAI Reg. No. 101 . The name/letters "HDFC" in the name/logo of the company belongs to Housing Development Finance Corporation Limited ("HDFC Limited") and is used by HDFC Life under an agreement entered into with HDFC Limited. ARN EU/04/19/13618
LIVE TV DownloadNews18 App
News18 English
1-min read

Karnataka elections: How the state voted since 1989

Karnataka will vote for a new Assembly in single phase on May 5 and the counting for the 224-member House will take place on May 8.

D P Satish | CNN-IBNdp_satish

Updated:April 15, 2013, 4:30 PM IST
Karnataka elections: How the state voted since 1989
Karnataka will vote for a new Assembly in single phase on May 5 and the counting for the 224-member House will take place on May 8.

1989 Polls:

- The ruling party has always lost in Karnataka since 1985.

- Janatha Party government between 1985-89 had two Chief Ministers (Ramakrishna Hegde and SR Bommai). State was put under the President's rule by the PM Rajiv Gandhi in May 1989. Janatha Party lost miserably in 1989 polls. It won just 24 seats. In 1985, it had 135 seats. Congress registered a landslide victory by winning 178 seats.

- Vote Share in 1989 Polls: Congress 178 seats/43.76 per cent, JD 24 seats/27.08 per cent and BJP 4 seats/4.14 per cent.

1994 Polls:

Between 1989-1994: Congress had 3 CMs (Veerendra Patil, S Bangarappa and M Veerappa Moily). In 1994 polls, Moily led Congress was decimated. Its tally came down to just 34 from 178 seats. HD Deve Gowda led Janata Dal won by winning 115 seats. Congress was pushed to third place. BJP became official opposition party with BS Yeddyurappa as its leader.

- Vote Share in 1994 Polls: Congress 34 seats/ 26.95 per cent, JD 115 seats/33.54 per cent and BJP 40 seats/16.99

1999 Polls:

Between 1994-99: JD had two CMs (HD Deve Gowda and JH Patel). Just 6 months before the 1999 polls, party split at the national level. JD(U) led by JH Patel tied up with BS Yeddyurappa led BJP in Karnataka. Gowda's JDS contested on its own. SM Krishna led Congress won 132 seats. Ruling JD lost badly. JD(U) and JDS together won just 29 seats. BJP won 44 seats.

- Vote Share in 1999 Polls: Congress 132 seats/40.84 per cent, BJP 44 seats/20.69 per cent and JD 29 seats/29 per cent.

2004 Polls:

Between 1999-2004: SM Krishna ruled. He dissolved Assembly 6 months before its term and went to polls in May 2004. Congress lost. Verdict was fractured. BJP became the single largest party with 79 Seats. Congress came second and JDS third.

- Vote Share in 2004 Polls: Congress 65 seats/35.27 per cent, BJP 79 seats/28.33 per cent and JDS 58 seats/20.77 per cent.

2008 Polls:

Between 2004-2008: Two coalitions ruled the state. First 20 months, Cong-JDS led by N Dharam Singh and later JDS-BJP led by HD Kumaraswamy for another 20 months. Government collapsed in 40 months. State went to polls in May 2008. Riding high on popularity B S Yeddyurappa led BJP came to power for the first time in entire South.

- Vote Share in 2008 Polls: BJP 110 Seats/33.86 per cent, Congress 80 Seats/34.76 per cent and JDS 28 Seats/18.96 per cent.

Read full article
Next Story
Next Story

Also Watch


Live TV

Countdown To Elections Results
  • 01 d
  • 12 h
  • 38 m
  • 09 s
To Assembly Elections 2018 Results