News18» News»Politics»Karwan Election Result 2020 Live Updates: AIMIM Wins Karwan Ward

Karwan Election Result 2020 Live Updates: AIMIM Wins Karwan Ward



Karwan election result live updates: Who won and who lost, who all are contesting, who is leading, who is trailing and who is the new Karwan (కార్వాన్) corporator.

65. Karwan (కార్వాన్) is a ward in the Greater Hyderabad Municipal Corporation (GHMC) (హైదరాబాదు మహానగరపాలక సంస్థ). The reservation status for this ward is Backward Class. There are a total of 50,723 eligible voters in this ward of which 26,210 are male, 24,512 female and 1 are of the third gender.

There are 58 polling stations in this ward. Karwan is part of Karwan Circle (కార్వాన్ సర్కిల్) circle and Khairathabad (ఖైరతాబాద్) zone of the Greater Hyderabad Municipal Corporation.

M Rajender Yadav of AIMIM won from Karwan in the 2016 GHMC elections. The average voter turnout in the 2020 elections in all of Greater Hyderabad was 46.60% percent and the turnout in Karwan was 47.62 %.

There are 7 candidates in the fray from this ward in the 2020 GHMC polls: Katla Ashok (Bharatiya Janata Party - BJP), Mandagiri Swamy (All India Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen - AIMIM), J Ravinder (Indian National Congress - INC), Thandra Chandrakanth (Telugu Desam Party - TDP), Bhaskar Muthyala (Telangana Rashtra Samithi - TRS), Harish Tumma (Independent - IND), R Pandari (Independent - IND).

A total of 149/150 wards of the Greater Hyderabad Municipal Corporation (హైదరాబాదు మహానగరపాలక సంస్థ) (GHMC) across 6 zones and 30 circles went to the polls on December 1, 2020. In one ward repolling was held on December 3. The counting of votes for the GHMC elections 2020 are being held on December 4, 2020. A total of 1,122 candidates are in the fray for the post of 150 corporators of which 582 are male and 540 female. The average age of contesting candidates is about 41 years.

The last GHMC elections were held in 2016 in which TRS won 99 wards, AIMIM 44, BJP 4, TDP 1 and INC won 2 seats.

A total of 74 lakh voters were eligible to vote in these elections of which 38.5 lakh were male and 35.5 lakh were female. There were 669 voters of the third gender.

Click here for detailed ward-wise live results and list of candidates for the 2020 Greater Hyderabad Municipal Corporation elections.

Click here for a single-page overview of the GHMC 2020 election results.