Take the pledge to vote

For a better tommorow#AajSawaroApnaKal
  • I agree to receive emails from News18

  • I promise to vote in this year's elections no matter what the odds are.
  • Please check above checkbox.


Thank you for
taking the pledge

Vote responsibly as each vote counts
and makes a diffrence


Issued in public interest by HDFC Life. HDFC Life Insurance Company Limited (Formerly HDFC Standard Life Insurance Company Limited) (“HDFC Life”). CIN: L65110MH2000PLC128245, IRDAI Reg. No. 101 . The name/letters "HDFC" in the name/logo of the company belongs to Housing Development Finance Corporation Limited ("HDFC Limited") and is used by HDFC Life under an agreement entered into with HDFC Limited. ARN EU/04/19/13618
Associate PartnerAssociate Partner
LIVE TV DownloadNews18 App
News18 English
News18 » Politics
1-min read

Khem Karan Election Results 2017: Congress Candidate Sukhpal Singh Bhullar Wins

INC's Sukhpal Singh Bhullar has won the seat in Khem Karan, constituency No. 22 of the Punjab Legislative Assembly.


Updated:March 11, 2017, 8:20 PM IST

Indian National Congress's Sukhpal Singh Bhullar has won the seat in Khem Karan, constituency No. 22 of the Punjab Legislative Assembly.

The main candidates from Khem Karan were Bikramajit Singh (AAP), Sukhpal Singh Bhullar (INC) and Harjinder Singh (IND) and Virsa Singh (SAD).

Sukhpal Singh Bhullar is the son of Former MLA Gurchet Singh Bhullar and won the seat by defeating SAD's fire brand Akali leader, Virsa Singh Valtoha.

In 2012, the state had voted in favour of the BJP-Akali Dal combine, bringing Parkash Singh Badal back to power.

This time the ruling combine faced off against a resurgent Congress and the debutant Aam Aadmi Party. The state was the first to vote among the five states that went to the polls this time. Elections to the 117-seat Punjab assembly were held on February 4.

Exit polls have predicted a drubbing for the BJP-Akali Dal combine in the state with the Congress and the AAP predicted to be neck-and-neck.

For live Punjab assembly election results click here

Get the best of News18 delivered to your inbox - subscribe to News18 Daybreak. Follow News18.com on Twitter, Instagram, Facebook, Telegram, TikTok and on YouTube, and stay in the know with what's happening in the world around you – in real time.

| Edited by: Kriti Tulsiani
Read full article
Next Story
Next Story

Also Watch


Live TV

Countdown To Elections Results
To Assembly Elections 2018 Results