GET Stock QuotesNews18 APP
News18 English

Madhya Pradesh


Poll in 1 seat deferred




2-min read

Ten Days Since Results, Kumaraswamy Wins Trust Vote, Promises 'New Kind' of Coalition Govt

The motion expressing confidence in the Kumaraswamy government was adopted by voice vote in the presence of JD(S)-Congress coalition MLAs and other lawmakers supporting the government.

Updated:May 26, 2018, 8:43 AM IST
Ten Days Since Results, Kumaraswamy Wins Trust Vote, Promises 'New Kind' of Coalition Govt
CM Kumaraswamy and his deputy G Parameshwara greet each other after they won the trust vote at Vidhana Soudha in Bengaluru on Friday. (PTI Photo/Shailendra Bhojak)
Bengaluru: Putting an end to the prolonged, yet high-voltage political drama in Karnataka 10 days since the declaration of election results, the three-day old Kumaraswamy government on Friday won the vote of confidence in the Legislative Assembly amid a walkout by the BJP MLAs.

With 37 JD(S) MLAs, 78 Congress MLAs and support of a few others, the JD(S)-Congress’ post-poll alliance managed to sail through the trust vote on Friday as the House looked half empty with no BJP MLA present.

It turned out to be a smooth sailing for the 58-year-old HD Kumaraswamy as BJP members trooped out of the House after Leader of Opposition BS Yeddyurappa's blistering attack on the "unholy" JD(S)-Congress coalition.

Kumaraswamy's motion seeking the confidence vote was declared passed by voice vote by Speaker K R Ramesh Kumar as the new chief minister declared the walkout to be “escapism”.

Kumaraswamy asserted that the Congress-JD(S) coalition government would complete its five-year tenure.

He said he was conscious that he was not running a majority government but promised "a new kind" of coalition government that would become a model for the country.

"You (BJP) may be feeling that this government will go in two or three months, it will not go in two months or one month, but will stay with stability for five years," Kumaraswamy said.

Kumaraswamy also expressed his regret for not being able to assume the Chief Minister's post with the complete trust of the people.

Promising to continue the popular schemes of Congress government, Kumaraswamy said the government would not only be stable, but would protect the interests of everyone and provide an honest and good administration.

Earlier in the day, Congress’ long-time MLA KR Ramesh Kumar was unanimously elected as the Speaker of the House with BJP withdrawing its candidate from the contest at the last minute.

The BJP said that it was honouring the Parliamentary tradition that the presiding officer is chosen unanimously.

The JD(S)-Congress coalition had claimed the support of 117 MLAs in the 224-member House with an effective strength of 221.

Kumaraswamy was sworn-in as the chief minister on Thursday in a major show of unity with a galaxy of political heavyweights like Rahul Gandhi, Sonia Gandhi, Akhilesh Yadav, Mamata Banerjee and Mayawati standing by his side during his oath-taking ceremony.

Kumaraswamy staked claim to form the Karnataka government after BJP, led by BS Yeddyurappa conceded defeat and quit as the chief minister just two days after being sworn-in as the CM.

BJP was invited to form the government on May 17 by Governor Vajubhai Vala, despite BJP having 104 MLAs, which is less than the majority mark required to form the government.

Following a Supreme Court order, Yeddyurappa was faced with a floor test on May 19 when he chose not to go for it and instead resigned from his post paving way for the Kumaraswamy-led coalition.
(Get detailed and live results of each and every seat of the state Assemblies in Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan, Telangana, Chhattisgarh and Mizoram to know which candidate/party is leading or trailing and to know who has won and who has lost and by what margin. Our one-of-its-kind Election Analytics Centre lets you put on the psephologist's hat. Know interesting facts and trivia about the elections. Elections = News18)
| Edited by: Sanchari Chatterjee
Read full article
Next Story
Next Story

Also Watch


Live TV

Countdown To Elections Results
  • 01 d
  • 12 h
  • 38 m
  • 09 s
To Assembly Elections 2018 Results