Take the pledge to vote

For a better tommorow#AajSawaroApnaKal
  • I agree to receive emails from News18

  • I promise to vote in this year's elections no matter what the odds are.
  • Please check above checkbox.


Thank you for
taking the pledge

Vote responsibly as each vote counts
and makes a diffrence


Issued in public interest by HDFC Life. HDFC Life Insurance Company Limited (Formerly HDFC Standard Life Insurance Company Limited) (“HDFC Life”). CIN: L65110MH2000PLC128245, IRDAI Reg. No. 101 . The name/letters "HDFC" in the name/logo of the company belongs to Housing Development Finance Corporation Limited ("HDFC Limited") and is used by HDFC Life under an agreement entered into with HDFC Limited. ARN EU/04/19/13618
LIVE TV DownloadNews18 App
News18 English
News18 » Politics
1-min read

Lok Sabha Election 2019 Live: NPP Candidate Agatha Sangma Wins in Tura, Congress' Vincent H. Pala Wins in Shillong

The Meghalaya Lok Sabha election 2019 results have been declared - NPP's candidate Agatha Sangma has secured a parliamentary seat in Tura, while Congress' Vincent H. Pala has won in Shillong.


Updated:May 23, 2019, 6:07 PM IST
Lok Sabha Election 2019 Live: NPP Candidate Agatha Sangma Wins in Tura, Congress' Vincent H. Pala Wins in Shillong
(Image: News18.com)

Shillong: The Meghalaya Lok Sabha election 2019 results have come to a close. National People's Party's (NPP) candidate Agatha Sangma, who had been leading most of the way by a considerable margin of votes, has secured her parliamentary seat from the Tura constituency. In Shillong, the Indian National Congress's candidate Vincent H. Pala has secured the other parliamentary seat from the constituency of Shillong.

Chief candidates in Shillong included Vincent H. Pala from the Indian National Congress, BJP's Sanbor Shullai and United Democratic Party's Jemino Mawthoh. As far as Tura is concerned, The NPP, which is in power in the state, has put forth MP Agatha Sangma from the seat against Congress member and former chief minister Mukul Sangma. Agatha, 38, who is the younger sister of Chief Minister Conrad Sangma and daughter of late Lok Sabha Speaker Purno Sangma, was elected twice to the Lok Sabha from Tura.

Back in 2004, the seats in Tura and Shillong were secured by INC and AITC. However, in 2009, the seat in Tura was secured by NCP while Shillong was secured by INC. Again in 2014, Shillong went to INC but Tura was secured by NPP. Giving BJP's growing popularity in the northeastern states, it'll be interesting to see if INC can maintain its hold in Shillong.

Meghalaya is a state in northeast India and has 2 seats in the Lok Sabha of which 0 are reserved for Scheduled Castes and 2 are reserved for Scheduled Tribes. Meghalaya also sends 1 member to the Rajya Sabha. There are 60 Assembly constituencies in the state and the last Assembly elections were held in March 2018.

According to the latest available data, there were a total of 18,96,010 eligible voters in Meghalaya, of which 9,39,829 are male, 9,56,181 female and 0 voters of the Third Gender.

Agatha Sangma, who won from Tura parliamentary constituency in the 2009 elections and served as a minister in the UPA-II government, had won the Assembly elections from South Tura in 2018. Tura has been without an MP since last year as Conrad Sangma was the sitting member and had resigned after taking over in the state.

Tura comprises 24 assembly segments and there are over five lakh voters in the region. The first Lok Sabha elections in Meghalaya were held back in 1952.

Get the best of News18 delivered to your inbox - subscribe to News18 Daybreak. Follow News18.com on Twitter, Instagram, Facebook, Telegram, TikTok and on YouTube, and stay in the know with what's happening in the world around you – in real time.

| Edited by: ---
Read full article
Next Story
Next Story

Also Watch


Live TV

Countdown To Elections Results
To Assembly Elections 2018 Results