Take the pledge to vote

For a better tommorow#AajSawaroApnaKal
  • I agree to receive emails from News18

  • I promise to vote in this year's elections no matter what the odds are.
  • Please check above checkbox.


Thank you for
taking the pledge

Vote responsibly as each vote counts
and makes a diffrence


Issued in public interest by HDFC Life. HDFC Life Insurance Company Limited (Formerly HDFC Standard Life Insurance Company Limited) (“HDFC Life”). CIN: L65110MH2000PLC128245, IRDAI Reg. No. 101 . The name/letters "HDFC" in the name/logo of the company belongs to Housing Development Finance Corporation Limited ("HDFC Limited") and is used by HDFC Life under an agreement entered into with HDFC Limited. ARN EU/04/19/13618
Associate PartnerAssociate Partner
LIVE TV DownloadNews18 App
News18 English
News18 » Politics
1-min read

Lok Sabha Elections 2019: Tokheho Yepthomi From NDPP Wins Nagaland Contituency

There are a total of four candidates from the Indian National Congress, Nationalist Democratic Progressive party and National People's party battling for the Nagaland seat in the 2019 Lok Sabha Elections.


Updated:May 23, 2019, 7:28 PM IST
Lok Sabha Elections 2019: Tokheho Yepthomi From NDPP Wins Nagaland Contituency
(Image: News18.com)

Tokheho Yepthomi from NDPP wins Nagaland as counting concludes.

The counting has been delayed in Nagaland due to a technical error. Sources suggest that counting officials could not log in at the given time.

Guidelines briefing has concluded and counting will soon begin.

Nagaland counting. (Image News18) Nagaland counting. (Image News18)

A press release from Chief Electoral Officer of Nagaland, Abhijit Sinha suggests that the entire counting for the Parliamentary Constituency will take place at 13 places in the state which are currently under tight security.

The counting for this year's Lok Sabha elections has been delayed due to a technical error. According to sources, counting officials could not log in at the allotted time. The fate of candidates contesting in one constituency of Nagaland will be decided after the in the next 24 hours. In the last term, Nagaland has been angered with the delay for the signing of the Indo-Naga agreement that has been dragged for more than three years after it was tabled.

Here are 10 points that sum up the current standing of Nagaland

  1. Nagaland holds one seat in the Lok Sabha.
  2. Latest statistics suggest that there are a total of 12, 09,613 eligible voters in the state.
  3. Out of the total number of voters, 6,13,409 are male, 5,96,204 female and 0 voters of the Third Gender.
  4. Sharingain Longkumer of the Nationalist Democratic Progressive is in direct contest with Alem Jongshi, an independent candidate in Nagaland.
  5. Ahead of the aforementioned filing, O. Tinujungshi Longkumer, who went missing for two days ahead of the polling, rolled back his nomination. Following him, Toshipokba Longkumer of the Opposition Naga People’s Front also cancelled his nomination.
  6. Despite formerly being aligned with the BJP, the NPF has taken umbrage with the promises of reviving the Citizenship Amendment Bill and abrogating Articles 370 and 35A
  7. Since 2004, the notable battle in Nagaland has been between the NPF and the Congress, with the NPF having the upper hand. However, due to Neiphieu Rio’s departure from the NPF and the establishment of the NDPP, outcomes can be a lot more uncertain.
  8. At the moment, the Lok Sabha seat is held by Neiphiu Rio’s Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party (NDPP).
  9. The NDPP has been able to pass a resolution against the CAB – after Bill’s lapse – in the state assembly. However, this has not led to any break with the BJP.
  10. In 2014, the Naga People’s Front won 68.70% vote share in the state, while INC scored 30.10%.

Get the best of News18 delivered to your inbox - subscribe to News18 Daybreak. Follow News18.com on Twitter, Instagram, Facebook, Telegram, TikTok and on YouTube, and stay in the know with what's happening in the world around you – in real time.

| Edited by: Anirudh SK
Read full article
Next Story
Next Story

Also Watch


Live TV

Countdown To Elections Results
To Assembly Elections 2018 Results