Take the pledge to vote

For a better tommorow#AajSawaroApnaKal
  • I agree to receive emails from News18

  • I promise to vote in this year's elections no matter what the odds are.
  • Please check above checkbox.


Thank you for
taking the pledge

Vote responsibly as each vote counts
and makes a diffrence


Issued in public interest by HDFC Life. HDFC Life Insurance Company Limited (Formerly HDFC Standard Life Insurance Company Limited) (“HDFC Life”). CIN: L65110MH2000PLC128245, IRDAI Reg. No. 101 . The name/letters "HDFC" in the name/logo of the company belongs to Housing Development Finance Corporation Limited ("HDFC Limited") and is used by HDFC Life under an agreement entered into with HDFC Limited. ARN EU/04/19/13618
LIVE TV DownloadNews18 App
News18 English
News18 » Politics
1-min read

Lucknow East Election Results 2017: Ashutosh Tandan 'Gopal Ji' of BJP Wins

Counting is on for the Lucknow East seat, constituency No. 173 of Uttar Pradesh legislative assembly.


Updated:March 11, 2017, 6:35 PM IST
facebookTwitter Pocket whatsapp

Ashutosh Tandon of BJP has won Lucknow East seat, constituency No. 173 of Uttar Pradesh legislative assembly.

The main candidates from Lucknow East were Saroj Kumar Shukla (BSP), Akhilesh Kumar Singh (AIFB) Ashutosh Tandan "Gopal Ji" (BJP), Anurag Singh (Congress), Rohit Agarwal (RLD).

Ashutosh Tandon, son of Bharatiya Janta Party (BJP) loyalist and ex-Lucknow MP Lalji Tandon vs Congress Anurag Bhadauria, an Akhilesh Yadav loyalist and a person behind the Indian Grameen Cricket League.

In the 2012 Assembly elections, the Bharatiya Janta Party (BJP) won this constituency by a formidable margin of 20,818 votes. Kalraj Mishra, the winning BJP candidate, got 68,726 votes. The nearest contender was Juhie Singh of Samajwadi Party who got 47,908 votes. The voter turnout was 53.13 %.

The ruling Samajwadi Party (SP) in Uttar Pradesh had in 2012 won 224 seats spread across 75 districts. It has tied-up with Congress this time in the contest against BJP and BSP.

Elections to 403 seats of Uttar Pradesh were held over 7 phases from February 4 to March 8.

Exit polls had predicted the BJP emerging first in Uttar Pradesh with the Samajwadi Party- Congress alliance emerging second and Mayawati's Bahujan Samaj Party emerging a distant third.

For live Uttar Pradesh assembly election results click here

Get the best of News18 delivered to your inbox - subscribe to News18 Daybreak. Follow News18.com on Twitter, Instagram, Facebook, Telegram, TikTok and on YouTube, and stay in the know with what's happening in the world around you – in real time.

| Edited by: Ananya Chakraborty
Read full article
Next Story
Next Story

facebookTwitter Pocket whatsapp

Live TV

Countdown To Elections Results
To Assembly Elections 2018 Results