LIVE TV DownloadNews18 App
News18 English
1-min read

Ludhiana South Election Results 2017: Balvinder Singh Bains of LIP Emerges as a Surprise Winner

Balvinder Singh Bains of LIP has won the seat in Ludhiana South.

Updated:March 11, 2017, 4:00 PM IST

Balvinder Singh Bains of LIP has won the seat in Ludhiana South. He secured 53955 votes over INC candidate Bhupinder Singh Sidhu's 23038 votes.

The main candidates from Ludhiana South were Charan Singh (BSP), Bhupinder Singh Sidhu (INC) and Hira Singh Gabria (SAD).

In 2012, the state had voted in favour of the BJP-Akali Dal combine, bringing Parkash Singh Badal back to power.

This time the ruling combine faced off against a resurgent Congress and the debutant Aam Aadmi Party. The state was the first to vote among the five states that went to the polls this time. Elections to the 117-seat Punjab assembly were held on February 4.

Exit polls had predicted a drubbing for the BJP-Akali Dal combine in the state with the Congress and the AAP predicted to be neck-and-neck.

For live Punjab assembly election results click here

Read full article
Next Story
Next Story

Also Watch


Live TV

Countdown To Elections Results
  • 01 d
  • 12 h
  • 38 m
  • 09 s
To Assembly Elections 2018 Results