Take the pledge to vote

For a better tommorow#AajSawaroApnaKal
  • I agree to receive emails from News18

  • I promise to vote in this year's elections no matter what the odds are.
  • Please check above checkbox.


Thank you for
taking the pledge

Vote responsibly as each vote counts
and makes a diffrence


Issued in public interest by HDFC Life. HDFC Life Insurance Company Limited (Formerly HDFC Standard Life Insurance Company Limited) (“HDFC Life”). CIN: L65110MH2000PLC128245, IRDAI Reg. No. 101 . The name/letters "HDFC" in the name/logo of the company belongs to Housing Development Finance Corporation Limited ("HDFC Limited") and is used by HDFC Life under an agreement entered into with HDFC Limited. ARN EU/04/19/13618
LIVE TV DownloadNews18 App
News18 English
News18 » Politics
1-min read

‘Made in Pakistan’: How BJP is Selling Congress Manifesto With AFSPA, Sedition Law Promises

The Congress in its manifesto, released earlier, this week promised to amend Armed Forces Special Powers Act (AFSPA) and repeal sedition law.

Sumit Pande | News18.com

Updated:April 5, 2019, 4:56 PM IST
facebookTwitter Pocket whatsapp

Saharanpur: As western Uttar Pradesh gears up for voting in the first phase on April 11, the BJP has latched onto the Congress's manifesto promise to amend AFSPA and scrap sedition law to target opposition, especially in seats where the Congress has fielded a strong candidates.

The Congress in its manifesto, released earlier this week, promised to amend Armed Forces Special Powers Act (AFSPA) and repeal sedition law. The BJP has upped its ante against the Congress after it released the manifesto.

In an interaction with villagers in Saharanpur on Wednesday morning, BJP candidate Raghv Lakhanpal said, “It appears the Congress manifesto was printed in Pakistan. Such a manifesto cannot be printed by Indians."

"The Congress has said they will repeal sedition law. Shouldn't there be a law to punish those who raise slogans like ‘Bharat Tere Tukde Honge’,” Lakhanpal added.

The BJP is facing a triangular contest in Saharanpur from the BSP-SP joint candidate Haji Fazlur Rehman and Congress' Imran Masood.

Lakhanpal won the 2014 Lok Sabha polls defeating Masood by over 70,000 votes. The Congress on the other hand is attempting to focus on development issues in its manifesto.

"We talk about youth, they talk about Pakistan. We take up the issue of unemployment, the BJP will take up the Hindu-Muslim," Masood told News18.com.

In 2014 general elections, the BJP had won all the eight seats which are going to the polls in the first phase of elections in Uttar Pradesh. The region remains communally charged even years after the Muzaffarnagar riots.

Get the best of News18 delivered to your inbox - subscribe to News18 Daybreak. Follow News18.com on Twitter, Instagram, Facebook, Telegram, TikTok and on YouTube, and stay in the know with what's happening in the world around you – in real time.

| Edited by: Sana Fazili
Read full article
Next Story
Next Story

facebookTwitter Pocket whatsapp

Live TV

Countdown To Elections Results
To Assembly Elections 2018 Results