Take the pledge to vote

For a better tommorow#AajSawaroApnaKal
  • I agree to receive emails from News18

  • I promise to vote in this year's elections no matter what the odds are.
  • Please check above checkbox.


Thank you for
taking the pledge

Vote responsibly as each vote counts
and makes a diffrence


Issued in public interest by HDFC Life. HDFC Life Insurance Company Limited (Formerly HDFC Standard Life Insurance Company Limited) (“HDFC Life”). CIN: L65110MH2000PLC128245, IRDAI Reg. No. 101 . The name/letters "HDFC" in the name/logo of the company belongs to Housing Development Finance Corporation Limited ("HDFC Limited") and is used by HDFC Life under an agreement entered into with HDFC Limited. ARN EU/04/19/13618
LIVE TV DownloadNews18 App
News18 English
  • Municipal Corporations 9/10
  • TRS 8
  • INC 0
  • BJP 1
  • AIMIM 0
  • OTH 0
  • TRS 96
  • INC 9
  • BJP 3
  • AIMIM 2
  • OTH 4
Refresh Data
News18 » Politics
1-min read

Mamata Advances Campaign Schedule to Take on PM Modi Head-on in North Bengal

Mamata Banerjee preponed her April 4 rally to Wednesday to simultaneously address campaigns with Prime Minister Narendra Modi in North Bengal on April 3.

Sujit Nath | News18

Updated:April 2, 2019, 1:05 PM IST
facebookTwitter Pocket whatsapp
Mamata Advances Campaign Schedule to Take on PM Modi Head-on in North Bengal
Mamata Banerjee and Prime Minister Narendra Modi.

Kolkata: West Bengal Chief Minister has decided to take on Prime Minister Narendra Modi head-on as he is scheduled to campaign for the forthcoming Lok Sabha elections in Mamata Banerjee’s turf on Wednesday.

PM Modi is slated to address two rallies in opposite parts of the state - Siliguri in north Bengal and in Kolkata’s Brigade Parade Ground. Further, the Bengal BJP said that the PM Modi will address two more rallies in north Bengal on April 7 and 10.

On the other hand, Banerjee has preponed her campaign schedule by a day to kick off her public rally on Wednesday at Dinhata in Cooch Behar district, which falls under North Bengal, as well. Earlier, she was set to begin her rally on April 4, Thursday.

Northern Bengal will vote in the first phase of the Lok Sabha elections due on April 11.

Regarding the Bharatiya Janata Party’s campaign schedule in West Bengal, Bengal BJP chief Dilip Ghosh said, “Our Prime Minister, Amit Shah and Yogi Adityanath will address 22 rallies covering all the seven phases. PM Modi and Shah will address one rally each in all the seven phases, while Adityanath will address eight rallies. Not the least, other central leaders including Rajnath Singh will also address a public meeting in the state.”

Meanwhile, Banerjee has a packed schedule of 100 rallies across the 42 constituencies Bengal starting from April 3 to May 17.

In West Bengal, the Lok Sabha elections are going to be held in seven phases. The first, second and third phases of the polls are scheduled on April 11 (Cooch Behar, Alipurduar), April 18 (Jalpaiguri, Darjeeling, Raiganj) and April 23 (Balurghat, Jangipur, Murshidabad, North Malda and South Malda), respectively.

The fourth phase of elections will be held on April 29 at Berhampore (in Murshidabad district), Krishnanagar (Nadia district), East Burdwan, Burdwan-Durgapur, Asansol, Bolpur, Birbhum. While the fifth phase will be held on May 6 at Bongaon, Barrackpore, Howrah, Uluberia, Srirampur, Hooghly, Arambag. The penultimate phase will be held on May 12 at Tamluk, Contai, Ghatal, Jhargram, Midnapore, Purulia, Bankura, Bishnupur. The seventh and the last phase of election will be held on May 19 at Dum Dum, Barasat, Bashirhat, Joynagar, Mathurapur, Diamond Harbour, South Kolkata, North Kolkata and Jadavpur.

West Bengal has a total of 6,97,60,868 crore electorates who will cast their votes across 78,799 polling booths across the state.

Get the best of News18 delivered to your inbox - subscribe to News18 Daybreak. Follow News18.com on Twitter, Instagram, Facebook, Telegram, TikTok and on YouTube, and stay in the know with what's happening in the world around you – in real time.

| Edited by: Ahona Sengupta
Read full article
Next Story
Next Story

facebookTwitter Pocket whatsapp

Live TV

Countdown To Elections Results
To Assembly Elections 2018 Results