Take the pledge to vote

For a better tommorow#AajSawaroApnaKal
  • I agree to receive emails from News18

  • I promise to vote in this year's elections no matter what the odds are.
  • Please check above checkbox.


Thank you for
taking the pledge

Vote responsibly as each vote counts
and makes a diffrence


Issued in public interest by HDFC Life. HDFC Life Insurance Company Limited (Formerly HDFC Standard Life Insurance Company Limited) (“HDFC Life”). CIN: L65110MH2000PLC128245, IRDAI Reg. No. 101 . The name/letters "HDFC" in the name/logo of the company belongs to Housing Development Finance Corporation Limited ("HDFC Limited") and is used by HDFC Life under an agreement entered into with HDFC Limited. ARN EU/04/19/13618
LIVE TV DownloadNews18 App
News18 English
News18 » Politics
2-min read

Mamata Slams EC after Transfer of Four Bengal Cops, Says Poll Body Acting on Behest of Ruling Party

The EC on Friday night removed Kolkata Police Commissioner Anuj Sharma and Bidhannagar Police Commissioner Gyanwant Singh in a major shake-up in the police establishment of the state.

Sujit Nath | News18.com

Updated:April 6, 2019, 7:11 PM IST
Mamata Slams EC after Transfer of Four Bengal Cops, Says Poll Body Acting on Behest of Ruling Party
West Bengal CM Mamata Banerjee at a rally in Alipurduar on Saturday.

Kolkata: West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee on Saturday wrote a strongly-worded letter to the Election Commission condemning the transfer of four senior police officers in the state.

Central Police Observer Vivek Dubey had removed Kolkata Police Commissioner Anuj Sharma, Bidhannagar Police Commissioner Gyanwant Singh, Birbhum Superintendent of Police Shyam Singh, and Diamond Harbour Police Superintendent S Selvamurugan on Friday night.

Their removal came after the BJP lodged complaints that they are working on behalf of the ruling Trinamool Congress government. The state BJP requested the EC to remove them to ensure free and pair poll in West Bengal.

In her letter, Banerjee highlighted that the transfers was done without following official procedure. She has asked the poll panel to review its decision and also initiate a probe as to how and under whose guidance the decision of the transfers was taken.

"At the outset, I convey my highest regards to the EC of India. I strongly feel that the ECI plays a neutral role to save democracy in India. But, it is very unfortunate that I have to write this letter today to raise strong protest against the transfer order dated April 5, 2019, issued by the ECI. The decision of the commission is highly arbitrary, motivated and biased. We have every reason to believe that the decision of the Commission is at the behest of the ruling party at the Centre, i.e the BJP," she wrote.

Banerjee also expressed her displeasure at a public rally at Barobisha in Alipurduar district.

“The central forces are most welcome in our state. I feel that for better coordination, they should work hand in hand with the state forces for smooth voting,” she said.

Referring to the EC, she added, “They have changed good police officers. Let them do that. It will not affect us as we have people’s support.”

“Replace me first…if you can. We are not afraid of such a ploy (misleading the EC to replace officers) hatched by the BJP,” she claimed.

Banerjee warned those at the rally that the BJP will try to buy their votes. “They will snatch away your citizenship. They already did this in Assam. They removed names of Bengalis, Assamese and Muslims. They are trying to chase Bengalis away from Bengalis and in Assam. Don’t forget that Bengal is a land of the royal bengal tiger that will scare away the liars,” she said, referring to Modi.

The EC’s notification against the four officers came with a rider that no one will be allowed to work on any poll-related duties.

Get the best of News18 delivered to your inbox - subscribe to News18 Daybreak. Follow News18.com on Twitter, Instagram, Facebook, Telegram, TikTok and on YouTube, and stay in the know with what's happening in the world around you – in real time.

Read full article
Next Story
Next Story

Also Watch


Live TV

Countdown To Elections Results
To Assembly Elections 2018 Results