LIVE TV DownloadNews18 App
News18 English
1-min read

Mathura Election Results 2017: Shrikant Sharma of BJP Wins

BJP's Shrikant Sharma has won the Mathura seat defeating INC's Pradeep Mathur, who won in 2012.

Updated:March 11, 2017, 5:44 PM IST

BJP's Shrikant Sharma has won the Mathura seat by defeating INC's Pradeep Mathur, who won in 2012.

The main candidates from Mathura were Shrikant Sharma (BJP) BSP Yogesh Kumar, Pradeep Mathur (INC), Gaffar Abbas (CPI) and Ashok Agrawal (RLD).

In the 2012 Uttar Pradesh Assembly elections, the Congress (INC) defeated Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) by a slim margin of just 501 votes to win this constituency. Pradeep Mathur, the winning Congress candidate, got 54,498 votes. The nearest contender was Devendra Kumar Sharma of Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) who got 53,997 votes. The voter turnout was 56.30 %.

The ruling Samajwadi Party (SP) in Uttar Pradesh had in 2012 won 224 seats spread across 75 districts. It has tied-up with Congress this time in the contest against Bharatiya Janata Party and Bahujan Samaj Party.

Elections to 403 seats of Uttar Pradesh were held over 7 phases from February 4 to March 8.

Exit polls had predicted the BJP emerging first in Uttar Pradesh with the Samajwadi Party- Congress alliance emerging second and Mayawati's Bahujan Samaj Party emerging a distant third.

For live Uttar Pradesh assembly election results click here

Read full article
Next Story
Next Story

Also Watch


Live TV

Countdown To Elections Results
  • 01 d
  • 12 h
  • 38 m
  • 09 s
To Assembly Elections 2018 Results