Take the pledge to vote

For a better tommorow#AajSawaroApnaKal
  • I agree to receive emails from News18

  • I promise to vote in this year's elections no matter what the odds are.
  • Please check above checkbox.


Thank you for
taking the pledge

Vote responsibly as each vote counts
and makes a diffrence


Issued in public interest by HDFC Life. HDFC Life Insurance Company Limited (Formerly HDFC Standard Life Insurance Company Limited) (“HDFC Life”). CIN: L65110MH2000PLC128245, IRDAI Reg. No. 101 . The name/letters "HDFC" in the name/logo of the company belongs to Housing Development Finance Corporation Limited ("HDFC Limited") and is used by HDFC Life under an agreement entered into with HDFC Limited. ARN EU/04/19/13618
LIVE TV DownloadNews18 App
News18 English
News18 » Politics
1-min read

Meerut Election Results 2017: Rafiq Ansari of Samajwadi Party Wins

Dr Laxmikant Bajpai from BJP has been defeated by Rafiq Ansari of Samajwadi Party in Meerut Constituency.


Updated:March 11, 2017, 5:40 PM IST

Rafiq Ansari of Samajwadi Party has defeated Dr Laxmikant Bajpai of BJP from Meerut Constituency.

The main candidates from Meerut were DR. Laxmikant Bajpai (BJP), Pankaj Jauli (BSP), Gyanendra Kumar Sharma (RLD), Rafiq Ansari (SP).

From Bharatiya Janata Party Brahmin leader, Laxmikant Bajpai is the former UP chief. He is facing Samajwadi Party’s Rafeeq Ansari while Pankaj Jolly who is Punjabi is a contesting from RLD. Bajpai has the advantage being a four-time MLA, SP having the only Muslim candidate may give it an edge.

In the 2012 Assembly elections, the Bharatiya Janata Party defeated the Samajwadi Party by a margin of 6,278 votes to win this constituency. Laxmikant Bajpai, the winning Bharatiya Janata Party candidate, got 68,154 votes. Rafeeq Ansari of Samajwadi Party, the nearest contender, got 61,876 votes. The voter turnout was 64.26 %.

The ruling Samajwadi Party (SP) in Uttar Pradesh had in 2012 won 224 seats spread across 75 districts. It has tied-up with Congress this time in the contest against Bharatiya Janata Party and Bahujan Samaj Party.

Elections to 403 seats of Uttar Pradesh were held over 7 phases from February 4 to March 8.

Exit polls had predicted the BJP emerging first in Uttar Pradesh with the Samajwadi Party- Congress alliance emerging second and Mayawati's Bahujan Samaj Party emerging a distant third.

For live Uttar Pradesh assembly election results click here

Get the best of News18 delivered to your inbox - subscribe to News18 Daybreak. Follow News18.com on Twitter, Instagram, Facebook, TikTok and on YouTube, and stay in the know with what's happening in the world around you – in real time.

| Edited by: Puja Menon
Read full article
Next Story
Next Story

Also Watch


Live TV

Countdown To Elections Results
To Assembly Elections 2018 Results