Take the pledge to vote

For a better tommorow#AajSawaroApnaKal
  • I agree to receive emails from News18

  • I promise to vote in this year's elections no matter what the odds are.
  • Please check above checkbox.


Thank you for
taking the pledge

Vote responsibly as each vote counts
and makes a diffrence


Issued in public interest by HDFC Life. HDFC Life Insurance Company Limited (Formerly HDFC Standard Life Insurance Company Limited) (“HDFC Life”). CIN: L65110MH2000PLC128245, IRDAI Reg. No. 101 . The name/letters "HDFC" in the name/logo of the company belongs to Housing Development Finance Corporation Limited ("HDFC Limited") and is used by HDFC Life under an agreement entered into with HDFC Limited. ARN EU/04/19/13618
LIVE TV DownloadNews18 App
News18 English
News18 » Politics
1-min read

‘Mirror Images’: At Deoband Rally, Akhilesh Yadav Clubs Congress and BJP Into One Target

Hitting back at Prime Minister Narendra Modi for his criticism of the SP-BSP alliance, Yadav said the 'gathbandhan' is not 'milawat', this is 'mahaparivartan'.


Updated:April 7, 2019, 3:32 PM IST
‘Mirror Images’: At Deoband Rally, Akhilesh Yadav Clubs Congress and BJP Into One Target
SP chief Akhilesh Yadav, BSP chief Mayawati and RLD chief Ajit Singh along with other leaders wave at supporters during their joint rally at Deoband in Saharanpur on Sunday. (PTI Photo)

Deoband: Samajwadi Party chief Akhilesh Yadav on Sunday said the grand alliance of opposition parties in Uttar Pradesh will ensure the removal of all 'chowkidars' and the country will get a new prime minister after the Lok Sabha polls.

Taking a swipe at the ruling BJP, Akhilesh said during the holy period of Navaratri no one should lie. "In 2014, we trusted a 'chaiwala' (tea seller), the poll promise of crores of jobs and so many other promises. Now we are being told to trust the 'chowkidar'. We will ensure removal of 'chowkidars' (watchmen) from all the 'chowkis' (post)," he said at the joint rally of the SP, BSP and RLD here.

"We want to appeal to the BJP... during this holy period of Navratri, you should pledge not to lie. We want to make sure all our candidates win by a huge margin, so that the country can get a new prime minister," he said with BSP chief Mayawati and RLD's Ajit Singh present at the dias.

"These people call themselves custodians of religion... But they don't even know how to take a holy dip in the Kumbh. If you compare the Congress and the BJP they are just mirror images of each other. The Congress doesn't want to bring change, it's only in pursuit of power... You guys (BJP) are making tall claims about the electrification, it was our parties who ensured electrification of villages," Akhilesh said.

Hitting back at Prime Minister Narendra Modi for his criticism of the alliance, the SP leader said, "This 'gathbandhan' (alliance) is not 'milawat' (adulterated), this is 'mahaparivartan' (mega change). They call us 'milawat gathbandhan'... they are drunk on power. This is an alliance for electing a new prime minister."

"Our borders are still not secured... they have betrayed the country. This election is about change, this election is about bridging differences which they have created between us," Akhilesh said.

Striking the chord of communal harmony in Deoband, where there is a sizeable Muslim population, Akhilesh said Saharanpur is skirted by Mata Shakumbhari Devi on one end and Darul Uloom on the other. "There are leaders who only spread hatred. If you ask them about old promises, they will not speak on them," he said.

Get the best of News18 delivered to your inbox - subscribe to News18 Daybreak. Follow News18.com on Twitter, Instagram, Facebook, TikTok and on YouTube, and stay in the know with what's happening in the world around you – in real time.

Subscribe to Moneycontrol Pro and gain access to curated markets data, trading recommendations, equity analysis, investment ideas, insights from market gurus and much more. Get Moneycontrol PRO for 1 year at price of 3 months. Use code FREEDOM.

Read full article
Next Story
Next Story

Also Watch


Live TV

Countdown To Elections Results
To Assembly Elections 2018 Results